Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Won 1st place in a chili cook-off with this today. The only thing I changed was that I used Sweet Baby Ray's hickory/honey bbq sauce and only used about 7 oz worth (Do NOT use 32 oz!!!) I also carmelized my onions in the bacon grease before adding them. I also used 3 oz of unsweetened chocolate instead of 2 oz. I garnished with cheddar, sour cream and some cilantro. I also friend tortilla chips and sprinkled with chili pepper and cocoa and stuck one in each dish. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
everyone loved this and even asked me to make it again a week later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
We used this recipe with a few mods and won People's Choice award this past weekend in a Chili Cook-off. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yummy! I tied for 1st in a chili contest with this recipe. I cut the recipe in half; otherwise, it wouldn't have fit in my crock pot. I followed the advice of others that said to let it sit for a day before serving, and that's exactly right. The flavors were so much better. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
wonderful!! My husband, someone is always critical when it comes to food said this was the best chili he ever has had. he didn't even complain about left overs. I did follow the other reviewers advice and cut the BBQ sauce in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this chili for Superbowl last year and it was popular enough to make a repeat appearance this year. BUT, I needed to make one important tweak (hence the 4 stars). I now use only one cup of the bbq sauce so it adds a SUBTLE element to this chili rather than an overwhelming one. I also recommend adding half the chili powder if you like a subtle spiciness. Half the amount of chili powder along with the spicy sausage makes for a subtle spiciness. But if you like it hot, by all means add the full amount. This recipe makes a TON of chili, so it's perfect for a large crowd. Tip: your cooking pot needs to be bigger than 8 quarts if you are going to simmer the chili in the pot. I mix the whole thing up in my 8 quart stock pot but it's too full to actually let it simmer in, so I then split it between two slow cookers and cook on low heat for the entire day. Makes the house smell delicious. Popular with everyone, kids and adults alike, this is definitely meat lovers chili - my daughter dubbed it 'Man Chow'. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is one of the best chilis I have ever tasted and I generally am not a big chili fan. I make chili every Superbowl (because that's what people do), but after making this- yum! There is only one other I know of that would compete with it- My neighbor Scott makes a rockin' pulled pork chili. Anyway, if you make Rick's you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Perkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Just didn't care for this chili. I like things sweet but this was too sweet. I cut the recipe in half and used a 12 oz bottle of BBQ and it was still too sweet. I added sauteed green peppers and onions and lots of other things to try and "fix" the taste but this was really pedestrian chili. My husband said it was "fine" but that's not what I'm going for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This chili is excellent! It takes a while to prepare but it is definitly worth it. I love the smokyness of the bacon in it. I did not use bbq sauce but i use a dash of liquid hickory smoke and it turned out really nice. I did put some carots, corn and celery in it because i love vegies in my chili. I also used 3 different kind of beans to have different colors and textures. I used more tomato sauce, more chili powder and more chocolate because i haded a lot of vegetables and needed more spices. I also used a bit of cayenne pepper powder. I will deffinitly make this again, it is excellent with sour cream and corn chips. I now have a huge batch i will enjoy for the rest of the winter! (i used my crock pot and a big soup pot...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very strong even after cutting the amount of barbeque sauce in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States