Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This tastes like a pot of BBQ baked beans with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elkdag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just made this for a staff chili cookoff at our school and it was a hit- 1st place! 10 chili's in the competition, most were excellent but everyone went crazy over this chocolate chili. I recommend reducing the bbq sauce to at least half otherwise it is too bbqish. Tried the chili before adding the bbq sauce and it was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really good chili. My son made this the other day, and it was outstanding. My personal favorite chili is "Best B.E.A.N. Chili from this site, but this one was very different--definitely a heavier chili. Very good with cheese and sour cream and tortilla chips. Served it with sweet corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
OUTSTANDING! I entered this in our local Chili contest yesterday and won 1st place! The only thing I changed was that I added some fresh garlic, and used very little BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Ive been making this for a few years now, started off because it was my boyfriend's theory that EVERYTHING tastes better with bacon! I found this recipe with that in mind, and although it sounded a bit different, i tried it. It is the BEST chili recipe ever! I've never even been a big chili fan and LOVE this. My 10 year old son is the pickiest eater ever and loves it too! I halfed the recipe tonight and have a pot on the stove now, it smells great! No alterations necessary...sometimes (if we have it) we put a little cheddar on top, but its certainly not needed for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I thought this recipe was good but not award-winning. Of course it may just be me and my preferences for chili, but I thought the chili powder may have been too strong and overwhelming for the recipe - with good ingredients like sausage and bacon, I was wishing I could taste them more. Just my opinion........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Won 1st place in a chili cook-off with this today. The only thing I changed was that I used Sweet Baby Ray's hickory/honey bbq sauce and only used about 7 oz worth (Do NOT use 32 oz!!!) I also carmelized my onions in the bacon grease before adding them. I also used 3 oz of unsweetened chocolate instead of 2 oz. I garnished with cheddar, sour cream and some cilantro. I also friend tortilla chips and sprinkled with chili pepper and cocoa and stuck one in each dish. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
everyone loved this and even asked me to make it again a week later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
We used this recipe with a few mods and won People's Choice award this past weekend in a Chili Cook-off. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yummy! I tied for 1st in a chili contest with this recipe. I cut the recipe in half; otherwise, it wouldn't have fit in my crock pot. I followed the advice of others that said to let it sit for a day before serving, and that's exactly right. The flavors were so much better. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States