Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is an excellent recipe I tweaked it a little. I didn't have Italian seasoning used Pizza seasoning in it's place. I added 2 Tbs. of Cajun seasoning. I make my own BBQ sauce so I used that it's a sweet and spicy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is my favorite chili to make. I am usually not cooking for a crowd, so I halve it when I make it, and have leftovers for a while. I don't find it too sweet, but I also don't use hickory BBQ sauce as recommended. I live in Kansas City, a local BBQ joint mecca, so I use locally-produced Arthur Bryant's sauce when I make it, which is unlike most mass-produced sauces, and not at all sweet. It's an acidic, vinegar-y/peppery sauce with bite. I also slightly decrease the chili powder, because of the bite you get with Bryant's sauce. I sometimes use tomatoes with diced jalapenos (RoTel-style), as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is great chili! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the tweaks I made. I added the BBQ sauce to taste and so glad I did bc I only added about 6-8oz and was worried it might overpower. I used dark and light kidney beans. I carmalized my onions in the bacon grease. I also added Sweet Italian sausage in addition to the spicy. I used 4oz of chocolate instead of 2. I got 2nd in a very competitive chili cook-off and I'm pretty sure someone licked my crockpot too so I'm calling it a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The kids even loved this! It was fabulous! Def will be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I used this in my first chili cookoff- I won my category! :) I tweaked it a bit...added a little brown sugar and a little less bbq sauce. Also I added 1 1/2 oz of unsweetened chocolate to the recipe. It was AMAZING! Going for win #2 today. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I omitted the bacon and added some dried cumin. This is some of the best Chili I have ever had. The chocolate with the chili powder is just such a great suprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Update: WE WON THE COOK-OFF IN 1ST PLACE!!! AND THE TEACHERS EVEN ASKED FOR THE LEFTOVERS! This was like.. THE BEST chili I've ever prepared and had in my life. The best. Well, I've only ever prepared one, but this is so delicious!! We had entered this in the chili cook-off at our school, and we decided to switch the bacon with 6 chicken breasts, seasoned with Italian and a bit of salt and pepper and minced garlic. Most of our teachers had loved it!! We even tried it and it was AMAZING. This was a chili that I had had when I was about 8, when my father took me to a BBQ Ribs restaurant. We ordered baby back ribs and my little brother was being annoying as usual and complaining because he made a mess on his hands, even though that was how you eat it. So my dad ordered chili because we were all still hungry, and he decided to get a large bowl. We couldn't even finish it, but I still wanted to eat it, so I stuffed myself with the rest of the chili! I'm amazed I'm not fat :) This has got to be like, THE BEST AMAZING CHILI I'VE EVER HAD. I hope we win the chili cook-off, results will be on Monday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This recipe was the bomb! I made it as a dish in my home and to share with a family that had some medical issues. It was eaten up by the other family and mine! Very rich chili and contest worthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Cut the recipe in half, but otherwise no major modifications. Third prize in church chili cook off. Thanks, Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pahouseholder

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is good, roommate really like it! This makes LOTS of chili, i ended up freezing 1/2. Love the smokey flavor...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States