Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The chili had a really good flavor, but it needed a little kick. I added 2 finely diced habanero peppers after adding the chocolate. Then simmered the chili for 3 hours. It really gave that chili a little extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Tastes like chunky BBQ sauce. No authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
We like this recipe when we want to switch things up from the traditional chili. The chocolate adds a very interesting (but good) flavoring. It's just not your traditional chili, if that's what you are looking for. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acoburn
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I've made this recipe four times in one month. It's that great. I halved the recipe because it was just me an my husband. I read the other reviews and made a couple of changes the second and third time around. I used fire roasted tomatoes, added a jalapano for an extra kick, used Sweet Baby Ray's Brown Sugar Hickory BBQ sauce because I couldn't find the other kind suggested. I also omitted the brown sugar just because I thought it was too sweet. I followed the directions and threw it all in a slow cooker for a couple of hours. It was fantastic each and every time. My in-laws couldn't say enough about it. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acoburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I give this 4 stars because everyone seemed to enjoy this. but their reaction was nothing compared to the pizza/pasta casserole [another allrecipes recipe] I made last night. We didn't have any sausage and I used regular Hersheys chocolate b/c the store across the street didn't have baking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is a terrific chili recipe. I agree with the other reviewers who suggested cutting the barbecue sauce in half, but otherwise I did this recipe precisely as written and it is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is OK the day it's made, but absolutely spectacular after it's "aged" a bit. Next time I try it, I'll probably use just 3 oz. of chocolate. When I taste-tested, I ended up adding an extra (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes to balance out the chocolatey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sommer
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This chili is really tasty. I changed it up a bit, added more italian seasoning, added diced green chilis, added at bit more chili powder and served it with shredded taco cheese, sour cream and shaved chocolate. I may use a little less BBQ sauce next time but it was a hit! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Rick must have a much larger pot than most. This is not really a human's chili. It s more like warming up barbeque sauce and lots of meat. My intent was to make a meaty chili but this was off the hook I couldnt even fit most (1/2) the ingrediants in the pot. I recommend scaling this recipe down if you want to eat BBQ sauce by the spoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I get compliments on this chili EVERY time I make it. My husband (who is the pickiest eater EVER) loves this recipe, it's the only one he will let me make! We make a whole pot and eat it all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States