Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This chili is fantastic! Two kinds of pig and cow! I don't use quite so much BBQ sauce (too sweet), and I like it a bit hotter, so I add hot chopped chilies or something to give it a little kick. I also added a tablespoon or so of cumin to keep the taste familiar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I reduced the BBQ sauce by half and it stillhad an overwhelming tatste of BBQ. Next time i would add another can of tomato sauce and some ketchup. If too thin and watery, I'd add some tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Wow,,, It's wonderful...All i did was add some green pepper and louisiana hot sauce and 2010 superbowl is turning out great!!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ledrearobinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
it was okay quite diffrent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Wonderful! Try draining the beans and add 2 light beers then simmer for 4 hours before serving. I actually made it in the morning and simmered all day. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
We have entered this into 2 chili cook-offs. It won first place in one and second in the other. My husband likes to let everything but the beans & chocolate simmer for a while, then adds them at the end. We halve this recipe and it still fills a 5 quart slow cooker to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The chili had a really good flavor, but it needed a little kick. I added 2 finely diced habanero peppers after adding the chocolate. Then simmered the chili for 3 hours. It really gave that chili a little extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Tastes like chunky BBQ sauce. No authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
We like this recipe when we want to switch things up from the traditional chili. The chocolate adds a very interesting (but good) flavoring. It's just not your traditional chili, if that's what you are looking for. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acoburn
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I've made this recipe four times in one month. It's that great. I halved the recipe because it was just me an my husband. I read the other reviews and made a couple of changes the second and third time around. I used fire roasted tomatoes, added a jalapano for an extra kick, used Sweet Baby Ray's Brown Sugar Hickory BBQ sauce because I couldn't find the other kind suggested. I also omitted the brown sugar just because I thought it was too sweet. I followed the directions and threw it all in a slow cooker for a couple of hours. It was fantastic each and every time. My in-laws couldn't say enough about it. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acoburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States