Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This is excellent! I used the following suggestions from other readers: used an 8x8 pan, 3 eggs instead of 2, enchilada sauce instead of plain tomato sauce, added some black olives and jalapenos on top, used only 8 ounces lower fat mexican cheese instead of 16 ounces, and broiled the cheese on top. My husband and I both loved it and we'll definitely be making this again! We served it with spanish rice, salad, tortilla chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
788 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I have been making this one for a few years now, with the following changes. I only use the evaporated milk. Use egg WHITES only, not as heavy this way. Enchilada sauce instead of tomato, more flavorful. I cut the whole chiles into 1" pieces then put them in. Everyone who has had it, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Very Good ! I used about 8 fresh roasted Hatch green chiles.(Hatch,NM is famous for thier peppers) Very accessable for me living in AZ. Used 1 lb of ground beef cooked with onion, and a little cumin. 3 eggs and a little hot sauce to the egg mixture. And enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. Used mostly sharp cheddar with a little monterey jack. Many compliments !! Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
After reading the reviews ... used an 8x8 pan, 3 eggs, only the evap milk, 1/2 the cheese - 4 oz of jack, 4 oz of cheddar, and about 1/2 cup enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce. My guests devoured this. Next time I'm adding a total of 4 eggs and a bit more flour to see if it gets fluffier. I'd like to try this with homemade roasted chiles even though the canned whole chiles tasted fine but I wouldn't use the diced chiles - discovered they are bitter, have too much juice, seeds, pieces of stem and ??? Yucky. Took longer to cook in the 8x8 pan (10-15 min. longer) and be sure to let it rest at least 10 minutes before serving. This is such a delicious recipe (despite all the changes) it still deserves 5 stars. *&$^@*&! I just reread the recipe and discovered it calls for a 5 oz. can (?) of evap milk. Hmmmmm. Maybe that is why so many reviewers eliminated the regular milk and just used a can (12 oz) of evap milk. That's what I did and it turned out fine. Pays to read the fine print!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
yum!! You can prepare this casserole ahead of time, then pop it in the oven when you're ready for dinner. I used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce for a little extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes! I use chopped chilis, one more egg, and only the evaporated milk (Not the additonal 1/2 cup milk which isn't even listed in the directions. #2 says mix milk not milks. Is the extra milk a typo?). I also bake it in a smaller pan - not the 8x8 - I use that odd pan in between an 8x8 and 10x13. We serve it with taco pie (fried burger with tomato sauce, served over a baked crescent roll crust, topped with cheese, and add your own lettuce, onion, etc.) This is definitely a keeper. Have used lower fat items also and was still tasty. We had leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I must say this is the best. I usually prepare my own roasted Poblano peppers and stuff them. But this casserole is just as good. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYENNE

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Excellent dish when using suggestions of others, and a couple of my own improvements. Smaller pan (8x8 or 9x9), 2-3 lg. fresh roasted pasillo or ahaheim chiles (peeled & diced), 4 eggs, half the cheeses, only the evap. milk. For the egg mixture: Separate the eggs and whip the whites until slightly stiff. Blend together the egg yolks, flour and milk and fold into the beaten egg whites. This creates a much fluffier casserole. The best sauce for this dish is a can of mexican style stewed tomatoes, blended till just smooth. More authentic and flavorful than using enchilada sauce. Never would use just canned tomato sauce - yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This was really good. I did use 1/2 a can of enchilada sauce in lieu of tomato sauce and only used the evap. milk ( I don't know why there are 2 milks) All in all, very tasty. Not spicy. Great meatless supper with rice & chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I read the reviews and did these changes 8x8 casserole dish used my own grownn anaheim peppers used only the 5 oz. condensed milk used enchilada sauce liked thi very much and hope to do again if wife will let me in kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States