Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This is DELISH! I had forgotten about it. My Mom make this dish, with two exceptions. She uses diced chiles, and she adds 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the tomato sauce. I was so tickled to see this recipe, I gave her a call, and she said it is the same (virtually) as she fixed us kids when we were young! Glad to have it back in my recipe box! THANKS SO MUCH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is a quick dish for those nights you just dont know what to make! I made a few modifications on this recipe though. First of all I used a 8x8 dish. It made the servings appear much larger. I also used 3-4oz cans of Hatch brand whole green chilis. These are grown/processed in New Mexico and have the best flavor. I also cut the cheeses in half- 4 oz each of Monterey Jack and cheddar. Also I added a third egg to the recipe. It gave the casserole more body. Thank you Clarissa2 for a reminder of a great dish I grew up on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was very good. I do think it lacked some body...a little "custard-y". It was GREAT the second day with some grilled chicken & salsa as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Excellent! I am one for sortcuts. I bought the already shredded Mexican cheese in a bag. Open the cans, measure the ingredients. Whalla, in a matter of minutes ready to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I thought this was a great, easy, HEALTHIER way to enjoy Chilis Rellenos. I used fresh mild chilies instead of canned. I sliced them into "rings" and this worked out great. I also mixed some salsa into the tomato sauce, but next time, I would either use all salsa or just try diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I just prepared this recipe and it's delicious. It really tastes like a chili relleno. I wouldn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Made this without the tomato sauce but it was YUMMY anyway and a whole lot easier to make than the traditional chile rellenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This recipe was so good. I added black olives for something different. I recommend it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This recipe definately has potential. I was not impressed with the tomato sauce, I would use enchilada sauce or salsa next time. Also, I thought there was too much cheese. Wow! That is really saying something for me because I am a cheese lover and usually add more than is called for. Maybe there wasn't too much, just needed something in there with it. I think I will try a little shredded chicken in the middle of the chilies next time. I have never had chile rellenos with meat in them, but hey, sounds like it would be tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States