Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
We'll be making this at least once a month! Delicious and easy. We tried it "plain" without the tomato sauce and half with a Hatch red chile sauce--preferred the red chile sauce on top...but was also good without it, just not as good. I've never tried making chile rellenos...and now I never will. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SamDMorrison
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very yummy dish. I used diced peppers instead of whole, and for the second layer of green peppers I used a mixture of diced peppers and tomatoes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is a very good foundation recipe. Great for using up your left overs. I did not have evaporated milk so I substituted half and half to 2/3 cup and omitted the milk. Use 3 eggs. My filling I use my left over long grain rice, and beef brisket thinly sliced into 1" length, added a can of black beans, chives from my garden,fresh corn and salt. I also used fresh pablano peppers, seeds removed unless you like it very spicy. I pan fried the peppers in a bit of olive oil in a cast iron pan. After searing the bottom of the peppers I added the egg mixture, followed by my rice filling and used Chihuahua cheese. I had some left over roasted red pepper sauce and added that to my tomato sauce 160z. I increased the amount of sauce due to the filling. Cooked as instructed and put the cast iron pan right in the oven. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Janis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Loved this recipe! It is a keeper at our house. Served it with Best Spanish Rice from this site. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made it exactly to the recipe as written. Wow! Then I read the reviews and there are a lot of other things to do. I was leary of using the big pan (too spread out) but did because of the cooking time. I did not think plain tomato sauce would do anything for this recipe, but it did!!! I have a similar recipe (I think), making 2 casseroles but I like the flat dish version .... easier to cut up and serve. I need to find that recipe (over 30 years old) and compare the two. I will be making this a lot .... we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We love chile rellenos anyway.. and it is surprising how much this casserole tastes just like them. I used Mild whole chiles in a can ( large can).. and upped the eggs to 3, the flour to 4 and used the entire can of evaporated milk. I also made 2 layers of chiles ( blotting the chiles dry onto layers of paper towel ), and cheese before pouring the batter type mixture on top. Used a 9X13 pan sprayed well with cooking spray and took it out at 35 mns.. to pour green enchilada sauce ( 1 - 8 oz can) over the top and another sprinkling of shredded mexican cheese blend, back in the oven for additional 10 mns. ..awesome and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
If you like quiche, you will love this. This reminds me of more a breakfast dish than dinner. My family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I agree with my fellow cooks to use a smaller pan. It spreads out too thin. I would omit the tomato sauce because there is no need for it and it makes the dish too salty for my taste. I rinsed, sliced the chili's and removed the seeds. The other ingredients are fine the way it is. I added the last cheeses and baked it longer. I like mine a little more cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I think it is better with fresh home roasted Poblano chili's. Only takes 5 minutes under the broiler turning Chili's with tongs till they blacken. Then throw them in a paper bag to steam. Easy to peel. I used 6 for a 8x8 pan. The enchilada sauce is a must. I used a Lawry's Enchilada spice package with a small 8 oz can of Hunts tomato sauce. Was very mild. Victoria in the glass jar has a bit more of a kick. Used 3 eggs. DEFINITELY separate out the yolks and whip the whites till they are fluffy. Then blend the yolks, flour & milk together and fold it into the whites. Makes a big difference. I only had 2% milk so I reduced the amount a little. Can see how the evaporated would make the casserole richer but it was still good without. Add sliced black olives & chopped green onions on top. Was really delicious. Wonderful that you don't have all those calories in there from frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was pretty good and very easy. I had fresh peppers to use so roasted, steamed and peeled them first.(Had three and cut recipe in half.) Didn't do any sauce but it needed some enchilada sauce. NOT plain tomato sauce though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States