Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I thought it was ok but my husband raved about it so I am making this again tonight! Like some others I had used 4 eggs in a larger pan, with flour and baking powder (1/2 tsp) added, with pepper jack and cheddar and enchilada sauce. For tonight, it will have much more green chilies (I cut these in half), with more pepper jack, and I am thinking about putting in some leftover roast chicken. I am hoping I will like it more this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was so yummy! I used fresh chiles instead of canned. I also used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
The recipe was a bit soupy for me. I would definitely include more peppers the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I am eatting this as I rate it! So delicious and easy! I did make a few adjustments recommended by others: I used an 8x8" casserole dish, used a 12oz can of evaporated milk (and no regular milk), 3 eggs instead of two, cooked it for 25 minutes, then topped it with El Pato brand tomato sauce with jalapenos (using just part of a small 7-3/4oz can), and cooked it for 15 minutes more. I used diced ortega chilies (because that is what I had in the pantry). I highly recommend this for it's taste and how quick and easy it was to make. This is a good option for breakfast,or...as a lunch or dinner side dish or main course...My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I love the versatility of this recipe. For more of a southwestern taste, I used fresh, roasted poblano peppers which I thought were delicious but the rest of the family thought were too spicy. Also, after lining the bottom with chilies, I layered with slices of provolone, then canned chicken I had seasoned with sauted, chopped onions and Kirklands mesquite seasoning, then a layer of pieces of cooked bacon. On top of the final layer of chilies, I poured a mixture of 3 eggs, 1/2 cup whole milk, 2 Tbsp cornstarch. I cooked as directed, then poured a puréed can of tomatoes with green chilies on top followed by loads of fresh grated mozzarella. Awesome flavor! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
So good! I had already planned on making rellano's for dinner but was tired so looked up this recipe instead. So glad I did! I used 3 poblano peppers and 2 green bell peppers diced. It made it easier when dishing up for my kids. I have 3, 4, and 8 year olds and they ate every bite! I do think I will try it with enchilada sauce next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good, but I doubt I would have felt the same if I would've used tomato sauce and canned chilis. I roasted my own in the oven. 350 degrees, on foil, about 10 minutes on each side, peeled, deseeded, and cut them in half. I used a can enchilada sauce, instead. I added quite a bit of Texas Pete hot sauce to the egg/flour mix for a bit of an extra kick. And broiled the cheese on top for an extra 5-10. I couldn't stay out of it. This recipe has potential and can easily be tweaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Echoing others, I too think the 1/2 cup milk called for is a mistake. Having used the 1/2 milk in the recipe caused a last minute panic where I added additional flour to thicken the eggs, milk and flour When not added, it's perfect, so therefore it's definately a mistake. Copying some of what bansreeparikh suggested: "8x8 pan, 3 eggs instead of 2, enchilada sauce instead of plain tomato sauce, added some black olives and jalapenos on top, used only 8 ounces lower fat mexican cheese instead of 16 ounces" I made my own enchilada sauce from a recipe I found here, the 10 minute enchilada sauce recipe, much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I think if I were to try this again, I would use fresh peppers. It is easy to make and my husband liked it. My kids tolerated it, but it wasn't a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I served this casserole with Vegetarian Tortilla Soup and salad. Delicious! This would also be very good for breakfast served with tortillas and black beans. Based on other reviews, I decided to use enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. We were out of red, so I tried green enchilada sauce. We loved it! I also used a smaller baking pan and cooked for a bit longer...this resulted in a nice thick casserole, which we really enjoyed. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States