Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I loved this recipe. I followed other reviewers advice and used an 8x8 dish and wanted to use enchilada sauce. I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used a can of diced tomato and added chili powder, garlic powder, cumin stirred it together and put over the top in place of the tomato sauce. I also turned up the oven to broil the final cheese topping and added green onion to the top. The end product was amazing. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I used a combination of canned chilis and freshly roasted poblanos. The kids (teens) loved it and I liked it. I took advice from others and used 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
As a breakfast casserole, I would give this 4.5 stars. I made it as written and unfortunately it was very eggy and not really suitable as dinner. It had a good flavor but didn't remind me of traditional chiles rellenos. This casserole did set up perfectly though and I think that some reviewers may have used large cans of evaporated milk--this recipe calls for using one and a half 5oz cans-- which should only be 1 cup of milk. If I make it again I will try it with only 3 eggs and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was a very good dish. As with many reviewers, I omitted the 1/2 cup milk, reduced the cheese by one-half and didn't notice a difference. I did make the following addition: added 2 additional eggs, which I separated and whipped the egg white until light peaks then folded the yolk, evap milk, and flour mix into the egg whites. I also baked it in an 8x8 glass dish. Next time, however, I will add an additional can of chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Had Anaheim chiles in the freezer from the September roasting; used Queso cheese with Jack; pinch of sugar to cut the acid of the tomato sauce; heavy cream instead of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was a good recipe. Something nice to eat every now & then. Wasn't a favorite. My son really liked it and ate up all the left overs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
We enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used Monterey Jack with jalapenos cheese, followed the other ingredients.My fussy husband even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
i used enchilada sauce and this was good. Needs to set for at elasst 10 mins after baking or it runs everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Don't know if it's our elevation or my oven - but had to bake a bit longer to have it set. Very tasty. We like Spicy so used some Valentina Hot Sauce... Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hebzynski

Displaying results 71-80 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States