Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
One of my favorite vegetarian recipes! I often make it for 'Meatless Monday', or when entertaining a vegetarian friend. I use fresh roasted chile's (I think the canned chiles are too bland) and enchilada sauce instead of tomato. I'm glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I've done this a hundred times for an easy, one-dish dinner. I have a couple of variations that work really well, although the original is just great by itself. 1. Roast your own, or use freshly-roasted chiles 2. Halve the portions for two 3. Use half and half instead of evap milk (skip the regular milk) 4. Use Trader Joe's RED enchilada sauce for a smokier, more robust version 5. Find a nice smoked cheddar for one layer for some added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Schoon
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I added diced chicken between the chile layers, & used enchilada sauce vs tomato sauce. Next time, I'll add some garlic salt, pepper & chili pepper to the egg mixture, because it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very good, but I will cut back on the cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We really like this recipe and now have it regularly; it so much simpler than making regular rellenos and tastes just as good. I've made it with both New Mexico and Poblano peppers (I usually use about 12 peppers) and both are equally delicious. Also, I use Queso de Chihuahua instead of Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce, added black olives, some shredded chicken (totally optional), and doubled the eggs. Really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was very good, however I changed it up quite a bit. Three eggs not two. I added sliced chicken beast instead of the second layer of green chilies. I also added a small can of mild spicy cubed tomatoes, and peppers and then enchilada sauce. It came out great. I kept all the measurements the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Kossak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a few years now and love it! I do add an extra egg and only use the evaporated milk, otherwise it turns out way too soupy! Sometimes I use less chilis/cheese and have a smaller casserole, sometimes I use more chilis/cheese and have a larger casserole. This recipe is very forgiving. I use this strictly as a vegetarian meal. I did have issues with the sauce that goes on top and tried salsa, enchilada and ranchero sauces as various times. However, I didn't really like any of these - they all seemed to overwhelm the chilis. I took another look at "tomato sauce," and thought that just couldn't be what the contributor meant. I took another look at the Mexican food section, and lo and behold I stumbled on it! Mexican tomato sauce! The brand I like is El Plato Mexican Tomato Sauce (Hot). It adds a flavoring, with a little heat, without completely overwhelming the entire dish. And it comes in the perfect 8 oz size. Love, love, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
it is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States