Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by carolann
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is an excellent recipe, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Very tasty with the tweaks from other reviewers: 3 eggs, evap milk only, less cheese, and I added seasoned ground beef as well. Yum! Great the next morning with a fried egg on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Added some chopped chicken sausage for added flavor and heartiness to fill growing boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
We Love it! I add an extra egg and tablespoon flour ,...totally awesome. I also put a different sause on...not tomato sause. Deliciousness! I made a authentic sause for chili relleno, it tates yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Tzimbal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a great meatless entree or side dish. It was surprising how good it tasted. Did take into action other reviewer comments such as using enchilada sauce, only using evaporated milk and egg whites only. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made a lot of changes, based on the reviews, so I don't know how accurate my rating is to the original recipe. I used four small roasted poblano peppers, PLUS four small cans of diced green chiles, pepper jack cheese, four eggs, omitted the regular milk, baked in an 8x8 pan until the eggs were set (added about 10 mins to the first cooking time), and made a homemade enchilada sauce out of the can of tomato sauce (Homemade Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site) for the top. We really liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is absolutely fantastic. I used Hatch green chiles that I had roasted and frozen myself and instead of the tomato sauce I topped with a red enchilada sauce. So good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have now made this recipe twice. Once, exactly as written and the second time based on some input from other reviewers. I would give this five stars either way. There is nothing wrong with the original way it is written. Dishing it out and serving it alongside beans and rice, it was a great meal. If you make it in a smaller dish, the casserole is a little thicker, and I do like that, as well. Servings seemed a little more substantial. I did find that, making it in the smaller dish, I didn't need as much milk. I did not cook it longer (as others have suggested you do if you make it in a smaller dish), and it was just fine. The second time around I made it in a smaller dish, eliminated the second milk and added one more egg. I liked it eggier, I must add. So if I make it either way, I will add the additional egg. And I will always use enchilada sauce instead of tomato. Either way you make it, be sure to let it sit for about 10 minutes to let it firm up. This is an amazing recipe and I'm so glad I found it. One other change I will do next time is use more Monterey Jack cheese than cheddar, because that feels more like the real thing to me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great tecipe. I used problano peppers, and green enchiladas sause. Added some black olives too. Got a thumbs up from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Not for me! I just don't think I care for Chili Rellenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States