Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My family loves this dish. I changed it a bit. I sauteed one medium onion and spread it in the chilis before I poured the egg milk mixture. I also added granulated garlic for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This got rave reviews even from my 3 kids 11,12,13!! I used almost a whole large can of chilies( 27 oz) 3 eggs ,just the evaporated milk(about 6 oz) 8x8, and it did take a bit longer to set then the specified time. Then topped with enchilada sauce ,cheese, green onion and black olives. It was awesome and not too spicy for the kids. Oh I also just used Colby jack cheese. It looked so good I forgot to take a pic- next time!! Served with sour cream and Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I tried to incorporate a couple suggestions from the reviews: (1) I used 3 egg whites and 1 yolk, (2) I used all evaporated milk rather than half regular milk, and (3) I used enchilada sauce (and when I found that quite runny as I was adding it, I stopped and switched to tomato sauce). I found the egg/flour/milk mixture turned out a little too fluffy and a little too sweet (wasn't bad, just wasn't quite right for chile rellenos). Otherwise I really enjoyed this! So if I use this recipe again, I'll stick to the recipe entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Flavor was good but it came out as a soupy mess. I noticed that some reviews said only 5 oz evap. Milk but some said the entire can of 12 oz so I was confused. I used the whole can and maybe that is why. I cooked it longer than suggested when I noticed that it wasn't firming up, but that didn't help. I did notice that when I pit the leftover away that it was a little better, so letting it rest might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
There was no substance to this dish. To me this would be better suited as an appetizer possibly rather than a main dish. Perhaps using some shredded chicken and tortillas to give layers would make it better. The taste was a bit lackluster, but that is why I try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is just like a chile relleno but much simpler to make. I roasted and peeled the poblano peppers and only used the evaporated milk and El Pato sauce rather than the tomato sauce. It exceeded my expectations! This is a keeper and as one other reviewer stated, this will be an excellent breakfast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is one of our favorite Mexican dishes! We've had it before, but had never added evaporated milk to it. We usually just added fat free milk. Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great! This time making it was extra spicy because I didn't deseed the peppers. I also just added 1 8oz pack of cheddar jack cheese instead of another 8oz of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now and loved it every time. It's simple and easy to prepare. I used the suggestion of others and added 1 additional egg to the mix for a little more density. I also use El Pato spicy tomato sauce on top. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It was amazing! I thought it was a nice, easy, and tasty meal. I followed the advice of others on this and changed the recipe just a tad. I used 3 eggs, only condensed milk, and only Mexican cheese. I also decided to add green onion, black olives, jalapeños, and sour cream to the top before I served it. I feel this dish would also be a good Mexican breakfast because of the eggs. Yumm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Fabulous. I did accept others' advice. I used a 9x9 glass baking dish. I layered in a small can of drained RoTel diced tomatoes with chilies. I used a 12oz. evaporated milk instead of combined milks. I used a total of 3 eggs and lightened the dish by separating the eggs and beating the whites into soft peaks- then adding the flour, yolks and milk. This worked great and I highly recommend it. Lastly, I put sliced black olives and chopped green onion on top of the cheese that goes on in the final 15 minutes. My casserole required about 10 minutes of extra baking. It was a pretty dish that benefits from sitting a bit prior to digging in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States