Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I agree with my fellow cooks to use a smaller pan. It spreads out too thin. I would omit the tomato sauce because there is no need for it and it makes the dish too salty for my taste. I rinsed, sliced the chili's and removed the seeds. The other ingredients are fine the way it is. I added the last cheeses and baked it longer. I like mine a little more cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I think it is better with fresh home roasted Poblano chili's. Only takes 5 minutes under the broiler turning Chili's with tongs till they blacken. Then throw them in a paper bag to steam. Easy to peel. I used 6 for a 8x8 pan. The enchilada sauce is a must. I used a Lawry's Enchilada spice package with a small 8 oz can of Hunts tomato sauce. Was very mild. Victoria in the glass jar has a bit more of a kick. Used 3 eggs. DEFINITELY separate out the yolks and whip the whites till they are fluffy. Then blend the yolks, flour & milk together and fold it into the whites. Makes a big difference. I only had 2% milk so I reduced the amount a little. Can see how the evaporated would make the casserole richer but it was still good without. Add sliced black olives & chopped green onions on top. Was really delicious. Wonderful that you don't have all those calories in there from frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was pretty good and very easy. I had fresh peppers to use so roasted, steamed and peeled them first.(Had three and cut recipe in half.) Didn't do any sauce but it needed some enchilada sauce. NOT plain tomato sauce though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Fantastic with some changes. I aggregated a number of suggestions in other reviews and this is a (altered) recipe I'll be adding to my weekly meal plans. I used 9 X 13 pan, spray with Pam, Use 27 oz mild green chilies sliced open to lay flat. I put shredded chicken and sprinkled Cumin on before cheese then another layer of chilies, chicken cumin. Used four eggs, all evap milk with flour mixed in--poured over top. In oven as directed for 25 min. Used green enchilada sauce (what I had on hand) and baked another 15 min. Sprinkled rest of cheese and sliced olives on top--another min in oven to melt. Took out and let rest about 10 minutes. Sprinkled chopped green onion on top and served. YUM YUM YUM Boyfriend puts HOT HOT salsa on everything and he didn't with this one (said it didn't need it) and went back for three servings and when I asked if I should it make again, he said "Heck yeah!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
It was ok, but a little too flat since it's just cheese and canned peppers. Wish it had more fresh ingredients for nutrients and thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Such an easy recipe for such a great tasting result! It gives you all the wonderful flavor of chile rellenos without the work of the original thing. As written, it has a lot of fat and I needed to lighten it a little bit so I used low fat evaporated milk, none of the regular milk and used low fat cheese without noticing a loss in flavor. I will try egg whites next time but used 3 whole eggs this time. I did add a little more cheese to the top so that negates some of my efforts but it did taste great! Also I added sliced black olives to the top since we like them. I thought the tomato sauce was fine but will try mixing it with a little enchillada sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Used fresh chilis roasted and peeled 3 eggs instead of 2 and mild enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. Turned out wonderful. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I usually make regular chiles relleno, with NM long green chiles or poblanos. It's labor-intensive but delicious. I've always heard of this casserole, but have been hesitant to try it instead of my usual method. Finally gave it a try, & it was great! I used some NM green chile I had frozen, but canned whole chiles would work fine here. I actually made two layers of chile, cheese, & some picadillo had had leftover from tacos (chiles relleno often contain meat--don't know why previous viewer seemed unsure about that). I used the Mexican cheese blend from Kraft. I also omitted the extra milk, using just the 5 oz can of evap milk. I even subbed Bisquick for the flour. It helped to make the topping lighter & puffier. Instead of tomato sauce, I used a small can of green chile enchilada sauce. I cooked this in a deep 8 inch casserole dish, & after the first 25 minutes, when I added the sauce, it took an hour or so, rather than 15 minutes, to get done. In fact, I poked a few holes in the topping to let some of the sauce run down into the dish. It turned out just beautifully, with a puffy green topping. With my alterations, I give this 5 stars. You can make this as spicy as you like. Top with some black olives, sour cream or crema, & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Yummy! and easy!! I know it's annoying when people rate a recipe then add all their changes, but here goes... I did what other reviewers suggested, and used the whole can of evaporated milk and didn't use the regular milk. I couldn't find Poblano chilis so I settled for Anaheim chilis, I roasted them and placed them in a bag for a few minutes then peeled and seeded them, I feel it made a definitely difference in the taste as compared to the canned chilis, that also have added salt that I don't need. I used mild enchiladas sauce and I was generous with the cheese. I made it the night before my ladie's luncheon and reheated it covered with foil, added the sliced olives at the end of the heating.. it was devoured!! yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I thought it was ok but my husband raved about it so I am making this again tonight! Like some others I had used 4 eggs in a larger pan, with flour and baking powder (1/2 tsp) added, with pepper jack and cheddar and enchilada sauce. For tonight, it will have much more green chilies (I cut these in half), with more pepper jack, and I am thinking about putting in some leftover roast chicken. I am hoping I will like it more this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States