Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was fantastic! Rave reviews from all four of us! I gave it a 4 only because I made changes from the original - following the common suggestions - cook in an 8x8 pan, 3 eggs, 12 oz can of evaporated milk and no regular milk, enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. I used a lot less cheese - because I was running short of time and couldn't grate a bunch of it. Delicious recipe with the tweaks. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe but I felt as written, it lacked substance. I did not care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Delicious! Did not add the plain milk and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
MAJOR MODIFICATION BUT EXCELLENT!!! I blanched 3 poblano peppers for 3 minutes, cut into strips and used instead of canned chili peppers. I added an entire can of Evaporated milk (12oz instead of 5oz). Used 4 tablespoon flour and 4 eggs. Mixed enchilada sauce dry mix with a 24oz can of tomato sauce and added jalapenos & cheese on top, as suggested by others. This was really good with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
We'll be making this at least once a month! Delicious and easy. We tried it "plain" without the tomato sauce and half with a Hatch red chile sauce--preferred the red chile sauce on top...but was also good without it, just not as good. I've never tried making chile rellenos...and now I never will. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SamDMorrison
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very yummy dish. I used diced peppers instead of whole, and for the second layer of green peppers I used a mixture of diced peppers and tomatoes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is a very good foundation recipe. Great for using up your left overs. I did not have evaporated milk so I substituted half and half to 2/3 cup and omitted the milk. Use 3 eggs. My filling I use my left over long grain rice, and beef brisket thinly sliced into 1" length, added a can of black beans, chives from my garden,fresh corn and salt. I also used fresh pablano peppers, seeds removed unless you like it very spicy. I pan fried the peppers in a bit of olive oil in a cast iron pan. After searing the bottom of the peppers I added the egg mixture, followed by my rice filling and used Chihuahua cheese. I had some left over roasted red pepper sauce and added that to my tomato sauce 160z. I increased the amount of sauce due to the filling. Cooked as instructed and put the cast iron pan right in the oven. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Janis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Loved this recipe! It is a keeper at our house. Served it with Best Spanish Rice from this site. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made it exactly to the recipe as written. Wow! Then I read the reviews and there are a lot of other things to do. I was leary of using the big pan (too spread out) but did because of the cooking time. I did not think plain tomato sauce would do anything for this recipe, but it did!!! I have a similar recipe (I think), making 2 casseroles but I like the flat dish version .... easier to cut up and serve. I need to find that recipe (over 30 years old) and compare the two. I will be making this a lot .... we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We love chile rellenos anyway.. and it is surprising how much this casserole tastes just like them. I used Mild whole chiles in a can ( large can).. and upped the eggs to 3, the flour to 4 and used the entire can of evaporated milk. I also made 2 layers of chiles ( blotting the chiles dry onto layers of paper towel ), and cheese before pouring the batter type mixture on top. Used a 9X13 pan sprayed well with cooking spray and took it out at 35 mns.. to pour green enchilada sauce ( 1 - 8 oz can) over the top and another sprinkling of shredded mexican cheese blend, back in the oven for additional 10 mns. ..awesome and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States