Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Should have been good, but it was a hot mess. Perhaps it would be best made in a 9X13 dish I don't know, but that seemed way too big, so I took other reviewers' advice and used an 8X8. Also omitted the plain milk and just added the whole can of evaporated (why waste it?) and used half the cheese, which was enough. Used roasted hatch chiles. Came out a soupy mess, even after cooking it longer and letting it rest. I sprinkled some cilantro and green onions on it to see if that made any difference in taste and it relly didn't add anything. won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rude
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Outstanding recipe, we added a few changes. Added an 8 oz can diced green chiles into 1 1/2 lb ground beef, with fresh ground pepper, diced onion, onion powder, garlic powder and let rest overnight in a sealed baggie in the refrigerator. Browned hamburger and added into the layering of the chile rellenos casserole. We did add an extra egg to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love this recipe. When I go to a Mexican restaurant, I always order chili rellenos. I could not find the cans of whole green chile peppers in any of my stores, so I bought 10 fresh poblano peppers and roasted them and then peeled the skins off and scraped the seeds out. I also used enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce. Everyone at my dinner party loved this recipe. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I'm sorry,but I just couldn't get past the texture...my son likes it,but since he's the only one,I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I feel hesitant leaving a bad review, because I've never had a chilli rellenos casserole before, so my distate for this recipe might be because I just don't like the dish. Its just a HUGE amount of cheese, there's really nothing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janac Meena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I LOVE this recipe! I roast my chili's, add jalapeños and substitute salsa instead of tomato sauce. It's great for breakfast, so I always double the recipe and I have a yummy treat for days to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I modified this recipe slightly and it came out great. I used 8 fresh poblano peppers sliced in half and grilled instead of canned chilis. I also used salsa instead of tomato sauce to give it more spice. I really love this dish because it is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I got this recipe over 30 years ago from a friend! Almost identical - 3 cans of whole chilies, generous 1/2 lb of jack, generous 1 lb cheddar, a large can evaporated milk, 4 eggs, 1 tsp salt, 2 Tbsp flour. 350 for 30 minutes. Then top with the can of tomato sauce mixed with a pinch of onion powder, oregano, small clove of garlic, salt and pepper. Stick back in oven for a few minutes. Yummy! We love it! Oh, I use a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Wow this was so delicious!!! I was a bit skeptical about this turning out eggy and breakfast-y, but I followed the advice of other reviews and only used the evaporated milk and 3 eggs, and a can of enchilada sauce. Eveyone loved this, and it tasted EXACTLY like Chili Rellenos!! Totally making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Really good recipe. I used a 9x9 pan, but did everything else as the directions stated. My family loved it and said it was worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States