Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Loved this recipe! It is a keeper at our house. Served it with Best Spanish Rice from this site. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made it exactly to the recipe as written. Wow! Then I read the reviews and there are a lot of other things to do. I was leary of using the big pan (too spread out) but did because of the cooking time. I did not think plain tomato sauce would do anything for this recipe, but it did!!! I have a similar recipe (I think), making 2 casseroles but I like the flat dish version .... easier to cut up and serve. I need to find that recipe (over 30 years old) and compare the two. I will be making this a lot .... we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We love chile rellenos anyway.. and it is surprising how much this casserole tastes just like them. I used Mild whole chiles in a can ( large can).. and upped the eggs to 3, the flour to 4 and used the entire can of evaporated milk. I also made 2 layers of chiles ( blotting the chiles dry onto layers of paper towel ), and cheese before pouring the batter type mixture on top. Used a 9X13 pan sprayed well with cooking spray and took it out at 35 mns.. to pour green enchilada sauce ( 1 - 8 oz can) over the top and another sprinkling of shredded mexican cheese blend, back in the oven for additional 10 mns. ..awesome and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
If you like quiche, you will love this. This reminds me of more a breakfast dish than dinner. My family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I agree with my fellow cooks to use a smaller pan. It spreads out too thin. I would omit the tomato sauce because there is no need for it and it makes the dish too salty for my taste. I rinsed, sliced the chili's and removed the seeds. The other ingredients are fine the way it is. I added the last cheeses and baked it longer. I like mine a little more cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I think it is better with fresh home roasted Poblano chili's. Only takes 5 minutes under the broiler turning Chili's with tongs till they blacken. Then throw them in a paper bag to steam. Easy to peel. I used 6 for a 8x8 pan. The enchilada sauce is a must. I used a Lawry's Enchilada spice package with a small 8 oz can of Hunts tomato sauce. Was very mild. Victoria in the glass jar has a bit more of a kick. Used 3 eggs. DEFINITELY separate out the yolks and whip the whites till they are fluffy. Then blend the yolks, flour & milk together and fold it into the whites. Makes a big difference. I only had 2% milk so I reduced the amount a little. Can see how the evaporated would make the casserole richer but it was still good without. Add sliced black olives & chopped green onions on top. Was really delicious. Wonderful that you don't have all those calories in there from frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was pretty good and very easy. I had fresh peppers to use so roasted, steamed and peeled them first.(Had three and cut recipe in half.) Didn't do any sauce but it needed some enchilada sauce. NOT plain tomato sauce though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Fantastic with some changes. I aggregated a number of suggestions in other reviews and this is a (altered) recipe I'll be adding to my weekly meal plans. I used 9 X 13 pan, spray with Pam, Use 27 oz mild green chilies sliced open to lay flat. I put shredded chicken and sprinkled Cumin on before cheese then another layer of chilies, chicken cumin. Used four eggs, all evap milk with flour mixed in--poured over top. In oven as directed for 25 min. Used green enchilada sauce (what I had on hand) and baked another 15 min. Sprinkled rest of cheese and sliced olives on top--another min in oven to melt. Took out and let rest about 10 minutes. Sprinkled chopped green onion on top and served. YUM YUM YUM Boyfriend puts HOT HOT salsa on everything and he didn't with this one (said it didn't need it) and went back for three servings and when I asked if I should it make again, he said "Heck yeah!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
It was ok, but a little too flat since it's just cheese and canned peppers. Wish it had more fresh ingredients for nutrients and thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Such an easy recipe for such a great tasting result! It gives you all the wonderful flavor of chile rellenos without the work of the original thing. As written, it has a lot of fat and I needed to lighten it a little bit so I used low fat evaporated milk, none of the regular milk and used low fat cheese without noticing a loss in flavor. I will try egg whites next time but used 3 whole eggs this time. I did add a little more cheese to the top so that negates some of my efforts but it did taste great! Also I added sliced black olives to the top since we like them. I thought the tomato sauce was fine but will try mixing it with a little enchillada sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States