Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very good. I used fresh peppers and found out I should have par boiled them. The top layer was a bit crunchy but still good. I used enchilada sauce not tomato sauce for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Rather than use canned chile peppers, subbed 6 fresh Poblano peppers that were oven roasted (broiled skin side 5 minutes & flesh side 4 minutes, and then set aside to steam in a brown paper bag). Added an extra egg. Used 1 (12 ounce) can evaporated milk instead of a 5 ounce can plus 1/2 cup milk which is seemingly an error in this recipe. The amount of milk is not overly critical if staying in a range of 7-12 ounces. The idea of using tomato sauce was unappealing so subbed 1 jar Herdez Traditional Chipotle Cooking Sauce and about a half jar of leftover hot picante sauce. After adding the tomato based sauces, topped with sliced black olives and fresh jalapeno peppers, and baked for the last 15 minutes. Topped off with cheese which was lightly misted with olive oil and returned to a turned off oven for 5 minutes. This was a big hit, and we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I added 2 lbs ground meet and one large diced potatoes cooked together and drained. I added 2 jalapeños one large red bell pepper one green bell pepper. Also cumin and a little cayenne pepper. It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was fantastic! Rave reviews from all four of us! I gave it a 4 only because I made changes from the original - following the common suggestions - cook in an 8x8 pan, 3 eggs, 12 oz can of evaporated milk and no regular milk, enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. I used a lot less cheese - because I was running short of time and couldn't grate a bunch of it. Delicious recipe with the tweaks. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe but I felt as written, it lacked substance. I did not care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Delicious! Did not add the plain milk and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
MAJOR MODIFICATION BUT EXCELLENT!!! I blanched 3 poblano peppers for 3 minutes, cut into strips and used instead of canned chili peppers. I added an entire can of Evaporated milk (12oz instead of 5oz). Used 4 tablespoon flour and 4 eggs. Mixed enchilada sauce dry mix with a 24oz can of tomato sauce and added jalapenos & cheese on top, as suggested by others. This was really good with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
We'll be making this at least once a month! Delicious and easy. We tried it "plain" without the tomato sauce and half with a Hatch red chile sauce--preferred the red chile sauce on top...but was also good without it, just not as good. I've never tried making chile rellenos...and now I never will. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SamDMorrison
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very yummy dish. I used diced peppers instead of whole, and for the second layer of green peppers I used a mixture of diced peppers and tomatoes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is a very good foundation recipe. Great for using up your left overs. I did not have evaporated milk so I substituted half and half to 2/3 cup and omitted the milk. Use 3 eggs. My filling I use my left over long grain rice, and beef brisket thinly sliced into 1" length, added a can of black beans, chives from my garden,fresh corn and salt. I also used fresh pablano peppers, seeds removed unless you like it very spicy. I pan fried the peppers in a bit of olive oil in a cast iron pan. After searing the bottom of the peppers I added the egg mixture, followed by my rice filling and used Chihuahua cheese. I had some left over roasted red pepper sauce and added that to my tomato sauce 160z. I increased the amount of sauce due to the filling. Cooked as instructed and put the cast iron pan right in the oven. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States