Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a great meatless entree or side dish. It was surprising how good it tasted. Did take into action other reviewer comments such as using enchilada sauce, only using evaporated milk and egg whites only. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made a lot of changes, based on the reviews, so I don't know how accurate my rating is to the original recipe. I used four small roasted poblano peppers, PLUS four small cans of diced green chiles, pepper jack cheese, four eggs, omitted the regular milk, baked in an 8x8 pan until the eggs were set (added about 10 mins to the first cooking time), and made a homemade enchilada sauce out of the can of tomato sauce (Homemade Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site) for the top. We really liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is absolutely fantastic. I used Hatch green chiles that I had roasted and frozen myself and instead of the tomato sauce I topped with a red enchilada sauce. So good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have now made this recipe twice. Once, exactly as written (because I kind of have a pet peeve about trying the original before you make changes), and the second time based on some input from other reviewers. I would give this five stars either way. There is nothing wrong with the original way it is written. In fact, I might argue that it is a little closer to "authentic" chili rellenos (with the exception of the tomato sauce, which was a little bland). Dishing it out and serving it alongside beans and rice, it was a great meal. If you make it in a smaller dish, the casserole is a little thicker, and I do like that, as well. Servings seemed a little more substantial. I did find that, making it in the smaller dish, I didn't need as much milk. I did not cook it longer (as others have suggested you do if you make it in a smaller dish), and it was just fine. The second time around I made it in a smaller dish, eliminated the second milk and added one more egg. I liked it eggier, I must add. So if I make it either way, I will add the additional egg. And I will always use enchilada sauce instead of tomato. Either way you make it, be sure to let it sit for about 10 minutes to let it firm up. This is an amazing recipe and I'm so glad I found it. One other change I will do next time is use more Monterey Jack cheese than cheddar, because that feels more like the real thing to me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great tecipe. I used problano peppers, and green enchiladas sause. Added some black olives too. Got a thumbs up from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Not for me! I just don't think I care for Chili Rellenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This recipe was incredibly easy to make, and has quickly become one of our new favorite dinner options. I'm making this when the in-laws come to visit next, I'll have lots of extra time to hang out and socialize because it's very quick to prepare. This recipe is awesome, and definitely has some room for people who make frequent mistakes (like myself). For instance, I accidentally bought a much larger can of evaporated milk (12 ounces, gotta remember to read the label) and added almost all of it. I just added an extra egg, another tablespoon of flour and a little extra cheese. It was a happy accident, because it was still just as delicious as I expected it to be. I also added some shredded chicken leftover from a store-bought rotisserie that we had the night before. It worked so well, this is definitely going into my permanent recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Griffith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very tasty, and it was so easy to put together. Next time I might just try all evaporated milk and one extra egg to see if it firms up more. I had a 10 oz can of enchilada sauce so I used it in place of tomato sauce. I bet the leftovers will taste even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
These are really good and easy to make I would recommend enchilada sauce as well, just not enough kick. Also drain the chillis well, or it can come or a little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
this was ok. the chilies, I used pascila that I roasted and peeled, gave it all the flavor. The egg part just wasn't rich enough for me. will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States