Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I am eatting this as I rate it! So delicious and easy! I did make a few adjustments recommended by others: I used an 8x8" casserole dish, used a 12oz can of evaporated milk (and no regular milk), 3 eggs instead of two, cooked it for 25 minutes, then topped it with El Pato brand tomato sauce with jalapenos (using just part of a small 7-3/4oz can), and cooked it for 15 minutes more. I used diced ortega chilies (because that is what I had in the pantry). I highly recommend this for it's taste and how quick and easy it was to make. This is a good option for breakfast,or...as a lunch or dinner side dish or main course...My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I love the versatility of this recipe. For more of a southwestern taste, I used fresh, roasted poblano peppers which I thought were delicious but the rest of the family thought were too spicy. Also, after lining the bottom with chilies, I layered with slices of provolone, then canned chicken I had seasoned with sauted, chopped onions and Kirklands mesquite seasoning, then a layer of pieces of cooked bacon. On top of the final layer of chilies, I poured a mixture of 3 eggs, 1/2 cup whole milk, 2 Tbsp cornstarch. I cooked as directed, then poured a puréed can of tomatoes with green chilies on top followed by loads of fresh grated mozzarella. Awesome flavor! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
So good! I had already planned on making rellano's for dinner but was tired so looked up this recipe instead. So glad I did! I used 3 poblano peppers and 2 green bell peppers diced. It made it easier when dishing up for my kids. I have 3, 4, and 8 year olds and they ate every bite! I do think I will try it with enchilada sauce next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good, but I doubt I would have felt the same if I would've used tomato sauce and canned chilis. I roasted my own in the oven. 350 degrees, on foil, about 10 minutes on each side, peeled, deseeded, and cut them in half. I used a can enchilada sauce, instead. I added quite a bit of Texas Pete hot sauce to the egg/flour mix for a bit of an extra kick. And broiled the cheese on top for an extra 5-10. I couldn't stay out of it. This recipe has potential and can easily be tweaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Echoing others, I too think the 1/2 cup milk called for is a mistake. Having used the 1/2 milk in the recipe caused a last minute panic where I added additional flour to thicken the eggs, milk and flour When not added, it's perfect, so therefore it's definately a mistake. Copying some of what bansreeparikh suggested: "8x8 pan, 3 eggs instead of 2, enchilada sauce instead of plain tomato sauce, added some black olives and jalapenos on top, used only 8 ounces lower fat mexican cheese instead of 16 ounces" I made my own enchilada sauce from a recipe I found here, the 10 minute enchilada sauce recipe, much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I think if I were to try this again, I would use fresh peppers. It is easy to make and my husband liked it. My kids tolerated it, but it wasn't a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I served this casserole with Vegetarian Tortilla Soup and salad. Delicious! This would also be very good for breakfast served with tortillas and black beans. Based on other reviews, I decided to use enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. We were out of red, so I tried green enchilada sauce. We loved it! I also used a smaller baking pan and cooked for a bit longer...this resulted in a nice thick casserole, which we really enjoyed. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Not too bad, but not that great either. I thought it was "salty" and did not use any extra salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Loved it! Used enchilada sauce, and did it in a 8X8 and used whole green chilies from a 27oz can. I maybe had 3 that I didn’t use. Topped with olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This Is great recipe. I've always wanted to find something that was lighter( less greasy) than the original chile rellenos. I'm Mexican and all my life grew up with chile rellenos. This is great substitute for that dish. It is easy to make. I don't follow the recipe exactly only cause I didn't have those cheeses handy. I used mozzarella cause it was the one I had. I also didn't use canned chiles but the original Padilla chile. Peeled just like if I was making chile rellenos. I also used la Victoria enchilada sauce rather than tomato. U can actually put any sauce over it if u like. Home made ir store bought. Everything else I followed. Every time I read reviews on recipes I try to read the once that aren't changed and that follows the exact recipe. I only change it cause I was going to make the original chile rellenos but last minute I found this recipe and decided to try it. Even though I change it from the original I know that this recipe will be GREAT if its followed to the T. I will be making this recipe many more times. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States