Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Not too bad, but not that great either. I thought it was "salty" and did not use any extra salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Loved it! Used enchilada sauce, and did it in a 8X8 and used whole green chilies from a 27oz can. I maybe had 3 that I didn’t use. Topped with olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This Is great recipe. I've always wanted to find something that was lighter( less greasy) than the original chile rellenos. I'm Mexican and all my life grew up with chile rellenos. This is great substitute for that dish. It is easy to make. I don't follow the recipe exactly only cause I didn't have those cheeses handy. I used mozzarella cause it was the one I had. I also didn't use canned chiles but the original Padilla chile. Peeled just like if I was making chile rellenos. I also used la Victoria enchilada sauce rather than tomato. U can actually put any sauce over it if u like. Home made ir store bought. Everything else I followed. Every time I read reviews on recipes I try to read the once that aren't changed and that follows the exact recipe. I only change it cause I was going to make the original chile rellenos but last minute I found this recipe and decided to try it. Even though I change it from the original I know that this recipe will be GREAT if its followed to the T. I will be making this recipe many more times. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made this recipe for dinner tonight.I used 3 eggs as suggested and dropped the milk. I did add a generous teaspoon of baking powder to the flour which I think helped the mixture become fluffy and light after baking, much like a chili relleno. My husband lovedd it and so did my son. No leftovers with this one. I also used cheddar and pre-grated taco cheese because that's what I had in the fridge. and since we like food spicey I used hot enchelada sauce instead of the tomato sause, which I thought was out of place for this recipe. This is a good standard recipe that can be tweeked to suite you taste. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I substituted enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This recipe was amazing. I added twice as many chilies and twice the amount of egg mixture. I also left out the regular milk and just used the evaporated milk. I used enchilada sauce, as the other viewers suggested, but maybe with half tomato sauce and half enchilada sauce it would be better. I felt that straight enchilada sauce took away from the yummy chili/egg combination. This is soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Escellent dish. I used 8 fresh anaheim peppers that had been skinned under a 500°C broiler for ~ 10 minutes. Also removed the seeds as my wife does not like picante' foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikey1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this for the first time tonight. It was delicious and so easy. I roasted some Hatch Chilies and instead of tomato sauce, I did enchilada sauce. I took the advice of some others and used 3 eggs. My picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Following others, I used an 8x8 casserole dish, omitted the milk, used just 6oz. of the jack cheese and used 5oz. of enchilada sauce and 3 eggs. It was my first attempt at Mexican food and everyone thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Loved this, flavor abounds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States