Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Used fresh chilis roasted and peeled 3 eggs instead of 2 and mild enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. Turned out wonderful. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I usually make regular chiles relleno, with NM long green chiles or poblanos. It's labor-intensive but delicious. I've always heard of this casserole, but have been hesitant to try it instead of my usual method. Finally gave it a try, & it was great! I used some NM green chile I had frozen, but canned whole chiles would work fine here. I actually made two layers of chile, cheese, & some picadillo had had leftover from tacos (chiles relleno often contain meat--don't know why previous viewer seemed unsure about that). I used the Mexican cheese blend from Kraft. I also omitted the extra milk, using just the 5 oz can of evap milk. I even subbed Bisquick for the flour. It helped to make the topping lighter & puffier. Instead of tomato sauce, I used a small can of green chile enchilada sauce. I cooked this in a deep 8 inch casserole dish, & after the first 25 minutes, when I added the sauce, it took an hour or so, rather than 15 minutes, to get done. In fact, I poked a few holes in the topping to let some of the sauce run down into the dish. It turned out just beautifully, with a puffy green topping. With my alterations, I give this 5 stars. You can make this as spicy as you like. Top with some black olives, sour cream or crema, & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Yummy! and easy!! I know it's annoying when people rate a recipe then add all their changes, but here goes... I did what other reviewers suggested, and used the whole can of evaporated milk and didn't use the regular milk. I couldn't find Poblano chilis so I settled for Anaheim chilis, I roasted them and placed them in a bag for a few minutes then peeled and seeded them, I feel it made a definitely difference in the taste as compared to the canned chilis, that also have added salt that I don't need. I used mild enchiladas sauce and I was generous with the cheese. I made it the night before my ladie's luncheon and reheated it covered with foil, added the sliced olives at the end of the heating.. it was devoured!! yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I thought it was ok but my husband raved about it so I am making this again tonight! Like some others I had used 4 eggs in a larger pan, with flour and baking powder (1/2 tsp) added, with pepper jack and cheddar and enchilada sauce. For tonight, it will have much more green chilies (I cut these in half), with more pepper jack, and I am thinking about putting in some leftover roast chicken. I am hoping I will like it more this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was so yummy! I used fresh chiles instead of canned. I also used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
The recipe was a bit soupy for me. I would definitely include more peppers the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I am eatting this as I rate it! So delicious and easy! I did make a few adjustments recommended by others: I used an 8x8" casserole dish, used a 12oz can of evaporated milk (and no regular milk), 3 eggs instead of two, cooked it for 25 minutes, then topped it with El Pato brand tomato sauce with jalapenos (using just part of a small 7-3/4oz can), and cooked it for 15 minutes more. I used diced ortega chilies (because that is what I had in the pantry). I highly recommend this for it's taste and how quick and easy it was to make. This is a good option for breakfast,or...as a lunch or dinner side dish or main course...My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I love the versatility of this recipe. For more of a southwestern taste, I used fresh, roasted poblano peppers which I thought were delicious but the rest of the family thought were too spicy. Also, after lining the bottom with chilies, I layered with slices of provolone, then canned chicken I had seasoned with sauted, chopped onions and Kirklands mesquite seasoning, then a layer of pieces of cooked bacon. On top of the final layer of chilies, I poured a mixture of 3 eggs, 1/2 cup whole milk, 2 Tbsp cornstarch. I cooked as directed, then poured a puréed can of tomatoes with green chilies on top followed by loads of fresh grated mozzarella. Awesome flavor! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
So good! I had already planned on making rellano's for dinner but was tired so looked up this recipe instead. So glad I did! I used 3 poblano peppers and 2 green bell peppers diced. It made it easier when dishing up for my kids. I have 3, 4, and 8 year olds and they ate every bite! I do think I will try it with enchilada sauce next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good, but I doubt I would have felt the same if I would've used tomato sauce and canned chilis. I roasted my own in the oven. 350 degrees, on foil, about 10 minutes on each side, peeled, deseeded, and cut them in half. I used a can enchilada sauce, instead. I added quite a bit of Texas Pete hot sauce to the egg/flour mix for a bit of an extra kick. And broiled the cheese on top for an extra 5-10. I couldn't stay out of it. This recipe has potential and can easily be tweaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States