Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Halved the recipe and roasted 4 anaheim peppers by broiling till they turned black and rotated with tongs, as they turned put them in a pot with lid and let rest for 10 mins, to make easier to peel. Didn't use a whole can of milk, cut back on the cheese by half and only used one can of red enchilada sauce, (maybe not all of it). Really good with refried black beans and mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was really easy to make and it turned out really well! I used 3 eggs instead of 2 because it didn't look like enough after I had poured on the 2 egg mixture. I also used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. I served it with olives, tomatoes, salsa, avocado, lettuce, sour cream and chips with queso dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was very good, it's a keeper. I put enchilada sauce on it as suggested. I'm thinking of adding a small can of rinsed and drained black beans and a cup of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Made this last night for dinner and the hubby loved it. Small alterations, I browned a pound of ground chuck, seasoning it with salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, cayenne, and paprika (Didn't have any taco seasoning so I had to improvise, then mixed it with some salsa con queso I had on hand. I put this mixture in just after the cheese and before the second layer of green chilies. I also used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce as other reviewers had suggested. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
this was pretty good, although I didn't use tomato sauce I used salsa instead and topped it with sour cream and avacodos. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I only gave it two stars because it is so heavy on cheese and lacks Mexican seasonings. I suggest using Monterrey Jack cheese. Into the cheese, mix some finely chopped green onion, a couple teaspoons of oregano, crushed. Then, instead of tomato sauce, use enchilada sauce. You could mix a bit of tomato sauce with the enchilada sauce if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Higdon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I cook this regularly I have used both canned and fresh chiles depending on what's in season. The only thing I change is for the eggs I use 2 whole eggs and 1 egg white, mix some cumin and garlic powder in the egg mixture, enchalada sauce in place of the tomato sauce, and sprinkle some cheese and green onions on top after I take out of the oven. Turns out fantastic every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very, very yummy. Really tasty and easy to makeI followed other reviewers and added more eggs: 2 whole eggs; 2 egg whites. Changed to fat free evaporated milk and fat free cheddar. Only used 8 oz of cheese and added olives to the top. Used enchilada sauce as suggested by other reviewers. And used one can of green chiles and one fresh green chile. Will add this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Roasted our home-grown poblano peppers for this. Used the 8 x 8 pan and just the evaporated milk. Whipped the egg whites separately, then combined the yolks and milk and flour, folded them into the whites. Enchilada sauce on top. Rave reviews, and great with eggs the next morning, IF you have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made for dinner tonight along with a taco rice casserole. Followed recipe as written. I think next time I will add 1 more egg though. My picky eater husband even ate it. There is half left and nobody else gets it but me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Kinnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States