Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I doubled this recipe and used the 9x13. I used 2 cans diced chills and 2 cans whole chilies because that's what I had. I took other reviewer's suggestions and used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. I didn't have any in the cupboard so I made "10 minute enchilada sauce" from this site. Sooo good! My daughter said she'd like it better if the next time I used just diced chills because she didn't like the large slices. I will make again. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This recipe could be 5 stars with a few changes. I used fresh roasted and peeled Poblano chiles. I whipped my egg whites until soft peaks formed and then slowly incorporated the egg yolks and the evaporated milk (did not use regular milk). I layered the casserole, with the Poblanos on the bottom, a layer of cheese and a layer of egg mixture. I then repeated the layers. Last, I did not use tomato sauce. I used a can of Rotel, mashing the tomatoes until the consistency was that of salsa. Will make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I used my homemade enchilada sauce. I had to roast some poblanos, since Publix did not have any whole peppers. I used 3 eggs and an 8X8 ish square dish as suggested. Absolutely wonderful! Oh, I did not add the regular mild. Just the evaporated milk. I'm sure I used a little extra cheese....being that I didn't measure it exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Should have been good, but it was a hot mess. Perhaps it would be best made in a 9X13 dish I don't know, but that seemed way too big, so I took other reviewers' advice and used an 8X8. Also omitted the plain milk and just added the whole can of evaporated (why waste it?) and used half the cheese, which was enough. Used roasted hatch chiles. Came out a soupy mess, even after cooking it longer and letting it rest. I sprinkled some cilantro and green onions on it to see if that made any difference in taste and it relly didn't add anything. won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rude
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Outstanding recipe, we added a few changes. Added an 8 oz can diced green chiles into 1 1/2 lb ground beef, with fresh ground pepper, diced onion, onion powder, garlic powder and let rest overnight in a sealed baggie in the refrigerator. Browned hamburger and added into the layering of the chile rellenos casserole. We did add an extra egg to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love this recipe. When I go to a Mexican restaurant, I always order chili rellenos. I could not find the cans of whole green chile peppers in any of my stores, so I bought 10 fresh poblano peppers and roasted them and then peeled the skins off and scraped the seeds out. I also used enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce. Everyone at my dinner party loved this recipe. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I'm sorry,but I just couldn't get past the texture...my son likes it,but since he's the only one,I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I feel hesitant leaving a bad review, because I've never had a chilli rellenos casserole before, so my distate for this recipe might be because I just don't like the dish. Its just a HUGE amount of cheese, there's really nothing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janac Meena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I LOVE this recipe! I roast my chili's, add jalapeños and substitute salsa instead of tomato sauce. It's great for breakfast, so I always double the recipe and I have a yummy treat for days to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I modified this recipe slightly and it came out great. I used 8 fresh poblano peppers sliced in half and grilled instead of canned chilis. I also used salsa instead of tomato sauce to give it more spice. I really love this dish because it is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Mexican Casserole

Quick and easy dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican f

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States