Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I cook this regularly I have used both canned and fresh chiles depending on what's in season. The only thing I change is for the eggs I use 2 whole eggs and 1 egg white, mix some cumin and garlic powder in the egg mixture, enchalada sauce in place of the tomato sauce, and sprinkle some cheese and green onions on top after I take out of the oven. Turns out fantastic every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very, very yummy. Really tasty and easy to makeI followed other reviewers and added more eggs: 2 whole eggs; 2 egg whites. Changed to fat free evaporated milk and fat free cheddar. Only used 8 oz of cheese and added olives to the top. Used enchilada sauce as suggested by other reviewers. And used one can of green chiles and one fresh green chile. Will add this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Roasted our home-grown poblano peppers for this. Used the 8 x 8 pan and just the evaporated milk. Whipped the egg whites separately, then combined the yolks and milk and flour, folded them into the whites. Enchilada sauce on top. Rave reviews, and great with eggs the next morning, IF you have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made for dinner tonight along with a taco rice casserole. Followed recipe as written. I think next time I will add 1 more egg though. My picky eater husband even ate it. There is half left and nobody else gets it but me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Kinnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Yum! I made as per recipe. The 2nd time I used an extra egg but it was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
this was wonderful and I truly loved it! i used the enchilada sauce over the tomato and used a smaller pan then suggested. i also used diced chilies. i used 2 whole eggs and added one egg white. fallowed the cooking times and turned out very tasty! thank you for the recipe and thanks for the tips as well! i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandac10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
It's even better the second day. I used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce, as reviewers recommended. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I will make it again, and again. My mom is a seasoned chili rellenos consumer and thought it was amazing! I did make adjustments though. It calls for way to much cheese and to big of a pan, use a square and cook it a little longer. I also added black olives during the last minutes of cooking. Next time I am going to add three eggs and see how firm it gets and enchilada sauce. I will make this again and again and maybe try a layer of cornbread? Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My family loves this dish. I changed it a bit. I sauteed one medium onion and spread it in the chilis before I poured the egg milk mixture. I also added granulated garlic for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This got rave reviews even from my 3 kids 11,12,13!! I used almost a whole large can of chilies( 27 oz) 3 eggs ,just the evaporated milk(about 6 oz) 8x8, and it did take a bit longer to set then the specified time. Then topped with enchilada sauce ,cheese, green onion and black olives. It was awesome and not too spicy for the kids. Oh I also just used Colby jack cheese. It looked so good I forgot to take a pic- next time!! Served with sour cream and Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States