Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made for dinner tonight along with a taco rice casserole. Followed recipe as written. I think next time I will add 1 more egg though. My picky eater husband even ate it. There is half left and nobody else gets it but me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Kinnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Yum! I made as per recipe. The 2nd time I used an extra egg but it was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
this was wonderful and I truly loved it! i used the enchilada sauce over the tomato and used a smaller pan then suggested. i also used diced chilies. i used 2 whole eggs and added one egg white. fallowed the cooking times and turned out very tasty! thank you for the recipe and thanks for the tips as well! i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandac10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
It's even better the second day. I used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce, as reviewers recommended. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I will make it again, and again. My mom is a seasoned chili rellenos consumer and thought it was amazing! I did make adjustments though. It calls for way to much cheese and to big of a pan, use a square and cook it a little longer. I also added black olives during the last minutes of cooking. Next time I am going to add three eggs and see how firm it gets and enchilada sauce. I will make this again and again and maybe try a layer of cornbread? Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My family loves this dish. I changed it a bit. I sauteed one medium onion and spread it in the chilis before I poured the egg milk mixture. I also added granulated garlic for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This got rave reviews even from my 3 kids 11,12,13!! I used almost a whole large can of chilies( 27 oz) 3 eggs ,just the evaporated milk(about 6 oz) 8x8, and it did take a bit longer to set then the specified time. Then topped with enchilada sauce ,cheese, green onion and black olives. It was awesome and not too spicy for the kids. Oh I also just used Colby jack cheese. It looked so good I forgot to take a pic- next time!! Served with sour cream and Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I tried to incorporate a couple suggestions from the reviews: (1) I used 3 egg whites and 1 yolk, (2) I used all evaporated milk rather than half regular milk, and (3) I used enchilada sauce (and when I found that quite runny as I was adding it, I stopped and switched to tomato sauce). I found the egg/flour/milk mixture turned out a little too fluffy and a little too sweet (wasn't bad, just wasn't quite right for chile rellenos). Otherwise I really enjoyed this! So if I use this recipe again, I'll stick to the recipe entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Flavor was good but it came out as a soupy mess. I noticed that some reviews said only 5 oz evap. Milk but some said the entire can of 12 oz so I was confused. I used the whole can and maybe that is why. I cooked it longer than suggested when I noticed that it wasn't firming up, but that didn't help. I did notice that when I pit the leftover away that it was a little better, so letting it rest might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
There was no substance to this dish. To me this would be better suited as an appetizer possibly rather than a main dish. Perhaps using some shredded chicken and tortillas to give layers would make it better. The taste was a bit lackluster, but that is why I try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States