Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
What did I do wrong? Mine looks like dip and not a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Z Merenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Very good and easy. Like most people say, use enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. Duh. An extra egg is good too. Spice it up with a little hot stuff to taste. Not as good as a good Mexican restaurant but pretty good for us gringos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gil Walsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Made this last night and it was a HUGE hit even with my vegetable averted 12 yr old!! He looked at it and was like 'ew, what are these green things?'. Then tried it and was quickly asking for seconds! I roasted my own (4) poblano peppers (mainly because I don't even know where I would get canned whole green chiles?), used ONLY 1/2 C of half and half instead of evaporated milk cause that's what I had on hand and added about 1/2 C diced onions, salt, pepper, chili powder, and cumin, 3 eggs, and used Rotel over the top, and did it all in an 8x8 pan, it was super tasty! So I guess I should probably write my own recipe and submit it since i pretty much changed the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is a delicious, filling dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Duran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Hi....Just made this and it came out kinda soupy,runny,ate with a spoon. Did everything as stated and let stand a few mins longer. What can i do to thicken it up? My husband did love the taste. Help this newer cook. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is a family favorite. I use a 12 oz can evaporated milk and eliminate the 1/2 cup milk and enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I made this several years ago, but lost the recipe. Glad to have it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylene Scholes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This is similar to my Chili Rellenos Casserole - the differences are that I use 1 and 1/2 cup of each cheese, the canned milk only, and 4 eggs. I also use chopped green chilis, that way you won't inadvertantly pull an entire chili out when dishing up! No sauce on top, just hot sauce and chopped green onions, sour cream, etc. on the side. If I want to make it a main dish meal I add 1/2 to 1 lb of browned ground beef, and just layer it along with everything else. This is an endlessly adaptable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Better than the real thing! We loved this. I wanted it to be more of a breakfast item, so added some stale bread cubes. I used diced peppers and half & half instead of evap milk. I cut down some on the cheese, but it still poured out when I cut into the casserole. I topped it with enchilada sauce as others recommend and that added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States