Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is a delicious, filling dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Duran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Hi....Just made this and it came out kinda soupy,runny,ate with a spoon. Did everything as stated and let stand a few mins longer. What can i do to thicken it up? My husband did love the taste. Help this newer cook. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is a family favorite. I use a 12 oz can evaporated milk and eliminate the 1/2 cup milk and enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I made this several years ago, but lost the recipe. Glad to have it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylene Scholes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This is similar to my Chili Rellenos Casserole - the differences are that I use 1 and 1/2 cup of each cheese, the canned milk only, and 4 eggs. I also use chopped green chilis, that way you won't inadvertantly pull an entire chili out when dishing up! No sauce on top, just hot sauce and chopped green onions, sour cream, etc. on the side. If I want to make it a main dish meal I add 1/2 to 1 lb of browned ground beef, and just layer it along with everything else. This is an endlessly adaptable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Better than the real thing! We loved this. I wanted it to be more of a breakfast item, so added some stale bread cubes. I used diced peppers and half & half instead of evap milk. I cut down some on the cheese, but it still poured out when I cut into the casserole. I topped it with enchilada sauce as others recommend and that added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This is a really good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I liked it, but I changed it. I followed the recipe for 6 people and this is what I did. Instead of 2 eggs, I used three. Probably could have used 4. Just used the evaporated milk, not the regular milk. Cut cheese way back, only using 8 oz. of Colby Jack total. Used a smaller pan 11x7. I used an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and added chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder and cumin to taste. When I added the cheese at the end I turned off the oven and let the casserole sit in the oven for 2 - 3 minutes to make sure cheese was melted. Let it sit for 10 minutes before cutting. It fed three hungry people with enough leftovers for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I tried this recipe with a few changes. I used canned jalapenos and lined them on a 9x13 baking dish. I used the jalapenos because I was at the grocery store and couldn't recall what pepper it called for. I like jalapenos so I thought that sounded good. Fresh would have been better of course. I also used half and half for the milk, cheddar cheese, three eggs and tomato sauce. I did remember to buy enchilada sauce, but after I opened the can I tasted it and didn't like the taste at all. I like tomato sauce and knew the sweetness would cool the bite of the jalapenos. I love this dish and so does my family. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Worthington LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States