Chili Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
7/7 of my family members that tried this loved it. I did make a few changes to the recipe, so I can't say that I would have given it 5 stars as written. Instead of canned, I used 8 average-sized poblano peppers that were roasted, peeled, stems and seeds removed, and cut into wide strips. I also used about 1.5 lbs of pepper jack instead of the 2 lbs of cheddar, which I'm sure lent itself to a more authentic Mexican flavor, and probably made it seem less overwhelmingly cheesy. I also added an extra 2 TBSP of flour and about 1 tsp of baking powder to the batter to make it a little more fluffy and less custardy. If I had used canned sauce, which I didn't because I always make my own, I think 1 can would have been plenty! This was as close as you'll get to chili rellenos without actually making chili rellenos. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Did not like it. I love cheese but not this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Codie Alcaraz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
We love this! I substitute the canned chillies for fresh and I roast them. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Good but not great. Worth a try to see if it is something you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very easy & very good. I used 8oz cheese within, 8oz on top, 4 4oz cans chopped chiles & 1 10oz can sauce just to cut a few calories. Turned out great. Thanks for a wonderful tasting recipe that takes minutes to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have tried making this dish twice doing everything the recipe says. Both times the dish has been very soupy. We had to bake an additional hour to get it to solidfy. So would like to know what the trick is to make it turn out without having to bake for almost 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My husband loved it. I roasted fresh peppers, which took longer to prepare & used 1 less of a can of green enchilada sauce cause there was already a lot of liquid. But overall great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
We have had it before and loved it. It's a great alternative to frying, which we try to avoid. We grow our own chiles and love using fresh from the garden veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I'm generally in-line with highly rated recipes, but this one just didn't do it for me. It wasn't great out of the oven, and was really a spongy mess as leftovers. Clearly a fan favorite, but just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trump29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I loved it and so did my husband. Leftovers were great with smoked pulled pork. Next time we are going to make extra so we can use the leftovers in burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States