Chili Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
In relation to the amount of chiles and enchilada sauce, 2 pounds of cheese is unnecessary and nutritionally undesirable given our personal preferences. I elected to cut the cheese in half while other reviewers compensated by upping the chiles used in the dish . . . either way works. Another issue surfacing in the reviews is too much enchilada sauce. I stayed with the recipe but added 2, 10" flour tortillas over top of casserole at step 3, and then added the second layer of cheese and enchilada sauce. This absorbed the ‘liquid’ some had concerns about and gave the casserole a little more substance. Also added personal seasonings since no seasonings were in the ingredients list. Removing from the oven and allowing the casserole to rest for about 10 minutes, the enchilada sauce was a bit runny but firmed up significantly after waiting another 15 minutes. With these modifications, it was close to 5* but the next day leftovers were even better with the ingredients further binding together along with more in-depth flavor. A big bonus is the ease of making this casserole with minimal prep time involved so that other things can be done while the dish bakes in the oven. A definite make again. Thanks, BonBon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This would have five stars except that I seriously cut back the cheese from the recipe. I used a little more than 1/3 the cheese that was called for. It was FANTASTIC! But seriously, 2 lbs of cheese? If I had made it with that much cheese, I think I would have given it a 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These were excellent! I fried. The poblano a in about 3. Inches of oil to blister them. The skins came off so quickly! I beat the egg whites into peaks and folded in the rest of the stuff as someone else recommended. For the sauce I used about a tablespoon of oil from the peppers and fried tomato sauce like I learned to make the real chili rellenos. So good and a lot less time!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Wow, this was so very good, I increased mine a bit to accommodate a 10X15 pan since I needed 15 servings. Used three 10 oz. cans of chilies, about a 1 1/2 pounds of Colby-jack cheese(2 pounds is a lot of cheese). Both cans of the canned milk and added enough regular milk to make 2 cups, and increased the flour by one more tablespoon. I did add in some paprika, black pepper, garlic and onion powder shakes for added flavor. Still baked for 30 minutes to a perfectly golden brown fluffy casserole. I know I changed a bit, but wanted to let those that need a larger amount know how easy it is to increase the ingredients a bit and still come out with a great. Every body raved about this one at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My family and I absolutely loved this recipe! We used fresh roasted green chilis in it and other than that followed the recipe exactly. It needed no additional seasoning what-so-ever. Unlike myself, my family does not like spicy food, but they ate the entire casserole! I will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
So easy, yet so good! I didn't have any green enchilada sauce on hand, so used one can of Ro-Tel instead -- just the right amount of "heat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Really easy. I used 2 roasted poblanos (skin off) instead of canned green chilis, 2 chorizo sausages (oil drained), 3 eggs for 4 servings, and finely sliced green onions. Next time I will spray the pan with non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I've made it several times, and everyone loves it. I follow the recipe as written except I use more chiles and a little less sauce. Next time I make this, I am going to use jalapeno jack cheese for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe ROCKS!!! Thanks BonBon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake George, New York, USA
Living In: Averill Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Fast and simple. It's an "eggier" version than another I've used. Could be used as a breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States