Chili Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Hands down best chili relleno casserole!! I always use this website for dinner ideas and usually tweak recipes, like I usually see in the reviews. This is the first recipe that I have seen that had great reviews on the original posted. Because of that, for the first time, I didn't change anything... And wow! Thank you for sharing this crowd pleasing, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANDEEKISSEZ
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My husband and I really enjoy this recipe. I omit the enchilada sauce; but once it's done, I pour a little green taco sauce over mine. I chop up olives and green onions and put a layer of that over the cheese. I always make more than this recipe does so I make a bigger batch of the milk/egg/flour mixture. I put all my layers down before putting it into the oven, so it winds up being: chili's, cheese, mixture of olives and green onions, chili's, cheese, mixture of olives and green onions, then the milk/flour/eggs mixture. I set the timer for 40 minutes and then once the timer goes off, I check for doneness and cook longer if needed (since I make a larger batch.) Someday I may try adding roasted, red bell peppers to the olive, green onion mixture. I like to serve this with Refried Beans. Ole'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDEEKISSEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was a quick and easy casserole to put together. I only changed the sauce from Enchilada sauce to making my own. 1 medium onion chopped 1 clove of garlic chopped 1 can of chicken broth 1 can S&W stewed tomatoes (Mexican recipe label) dash of cumin Combine all ingredients and simmer. Then pour over the casserole (that has been baking for 25 min) and bake an additional 10 min. Se hacen muy Sabroso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BETTINACW
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Super good. Added tortilla strips and sour cream after I plated it it. Also used chopped chilies because they did not have whole ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It is more of a dip then a casserole meal. Taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
It was soupy, lacked in flavor, and was just an over all DISAPPOINTMENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
7/7 of my family members that tried this loved it. I did make a few changes to the recipe, so I can't say that I would have given it 5 stars as written. Instead of canned, I used 8 average-sized poblano peppers that were roasted, peeled, stems and seeds removed, and cut into wide strips. I also used about 1.5 lbs of pepper jack instead of the 2 lbs of cheddar, which I'm sure lent itself to a more authentic Mexican flavor, and probably made it seem less overwhelmingly cheesy. I also added an extra 2 TBSP of flour and about 1 tsp of baking powder to the batter to make it a little more fluffy and less custardy. If I had used canned sauce, which I didn't because I always make my own, I think 1 can would have been plenty! This was as close as you'll get to chili rellenos without actually making chili rellenos. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Did not like it. I love cheese but not this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
We love this! I substitute the canned chillies for fresh and I roast them. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Good but not great. Worth a try to see if it is something you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States