Chili Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
We love this! I substitute the canned chillies for fresh and I roast them. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Good but not great. Worth a try to see if it is something you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very easy & very good. I used 8oz cheese within, 8oz on top, 4 4oz cans chopped chiles & 1 10oz can sauce just to cut a few calories. Turned out great. Thanks for a wonderful tasting recipe that takes minutes to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have tried making this dish twice doing everything the recipe says. Both times the dish has been very soupy. We had to bake an additional hour to get it to solidfy. So would like to know what the trick is to make it turn out without having to bake for almost 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My husband loved it. I roasted fresh peppers, which took longer to prepare & used 1 less of a can of green enchilada sauce cause there was already a lot of liquid. But overall great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
We have had it before and loved it. It's a great alternative to frying, which we try to avoid. We grow our own chiles and love using fresh from the garden veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I'm generally in-line with highly rated recipes, but this one just didn't do it for me. It wasn't great out of the oven, and was really a spongy mess as leftovers. Clearly a fan favorite, but just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trump29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I loved it and so did my husband. Leftovers were great with smoked pulled pork. Next time we are going to make extra so we can use the leftovers in burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
In relation to the amount of chiles and enchilada sauce, 2 pounds of cheese is unnecessary and nutritionally undesirable given our personal preferences. I elected to cut the cheese in half while other reviewers compensated by upping the chiles used in the dish . . . either way works. Another issue surfacing in the reviews is too much enchilada sauce. I stayed with the recipe but added 2, 10" flour tortillas over top of casserole at step 3, and then added the second layer of cheese and enchilada sauce. This absorbed the ‘liquid’ some had concerns about and gave the casserole a little more substance. Also added personal seasonings since no seasonings were in the ingredients list. Removing from the oven and allowing the casserole to rest for about 10 minutes, the enchilada sauce was a bit runny but firmed up significantly after waiting another 15 minutes. With these modifications, it was close to 5* but the next day leftovers were even better with the ingredients further binding together along with more in-depth flavor. A big bonus is the ease of making this casserole with minimal prep time involved so that other things can be done while the dish bakes in the oven. A definite make again. Thanks, BonBon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This would have five stars except that I seriously cut back the cheese from the recipe. I used a little more than 1/3 the cheese that was called for. It was FANTASTIC! But seriously, 2 lbs of cheese? If I had made it with that much cheese, I think I would have given it a 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States