Chili Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I've read lots of the reviews under this recipe and have taken to heart a few things that really helped..first..this recipe for 4 servings needs an 8.5 x 11 pan to fit all the roll-ups into..and second...definitely needed more spice...so, what I have done to cut corners a bit is added 3/4 pkg of taco seasoning (I bet chili seasoning would work great too) and still added the garlic. I also added a small amount of corn, but next time will double it (I suggest about 1 cup). I also added lots more enchilada sauce--actually the whole jar! My husband's comment was, "You can definitely make this one again!" My daughter's comment was "Just a little too spicy"...but then again, she did eat it right up! :) To go with this recipe, I made the 'Salad de Colores' found on this website--and the two go marvelously together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I made some changes to the recipe and it turned out excellent. I added 1 can of whole kernal corn, 1 can of creole style black beans, and about 5 spoonfuls of diced Jalepenos. I had to use an 8x11.5 inch backing dish and also added a little bit more cheese and enchilada sauce. Very, very good. Would rate 5 stars with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I read the reviews so I added black beans and corn. I'm glad I did, because these were so good! I used small whole wheat tortillas and a big can of enchilada sauce. Yummy! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is a good basic recipe that I have never even heard of before. It is a little carb-heavy, so I would definitely recommend adding other things to the potatoes. I added fresh spinach sauteed with garlic, and a can of black beans. I also, like another reviewer, made the "red enchilada sauce" from this website. It was all really good, but it makes a LOT of food! I took the extra leftovers to work the next day, and people were asking for the recipe! I think it would be especially good to use with leftover mashed potatoes, otherwise it is a little bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made this recipe for Cinco de Mayo and LOVED it. I made minor modifications that I gathered from the reviews. I added both black beans and corn and also added taco seasoning. I used a blend of fat free and reduced fat cheeses but I used way more than just one cup. I bought hot enchilada sauce by mistake but it turned out to be a happy accident. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These turned out very tasty. My husband was skeptical but he loved them. I thought they were just a touch too dry but it was nothing that cannot be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is a great recipe. I added one can of black beans, one can of mexi-corn and seasoned with half pack of taco seasoning mix. I still added the called for spices and it was not too much spice. I also added a little more cheese and definitely extra enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nzingha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lampertheim, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Unlike many, I was not skeptical of these - I'll do about anything with a potato, and I don't need (or care to have) meat at every meal - it's easy enough to add protein like beans on the side. I made this almost as is, except I didn't quite make mashed potatoes, but just sorta squished them a bit. And I used burrito size flour tortillas and this seemed about enough to fill four. Pretty good overall, but I agree that the potatoes can be a bit bland. I think something that would help is simply putting some of the enchilada sauce in with the potato mixture so that you're getting it with every bit. I think black beans is an interesting idea too, though haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was good, but it was a little dry. Next time I'll definitely add some more sauce as well as green chiles or jalapenos for some spice. Onions would be good and I like others' suggestions for corn and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe. I added one can of black beans, seasoned with cumin and chili powder. I still added the called for spices and it was not too much spice. I think maybe a little more cheese would be good next time, and definitely agree on the extra enchilada sauce. I think you could add shredded chicken to this too and it would be great. Really a hardy tasty meal. Will definitely make again! THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States