Chili Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I really enjoyed these and so did my husband (much to my surprise.) I added a dried red chile because I like spice. Also followed the other reviewers suggestions of adding chicken broth to the potatoes and used the entire 10 ounce can of enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was good. I added black beans to the potatoes and added more spice. What a great idea! Thanks jenneumann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made a couple of changes. I added a small container of sour cream to the potatoes, because they seemed dry. I used the entire can of enchilada sauce, and it could still probably have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Unlike many, I was not skeptical of these - I'll do about anything with a potato, and I don't need (or care to have) meat at every meal - it's easy enough to add protein like beans on the side. I made this almost as is, except I didn't quite make mashed potatoes, but just sorta squished them a bit. And I used burrito size flour tortillas and this seemed about enough to fill four. Pretty good overall, but I agree that the potatoes can be a bit bland. I think something that would help is simply putting some of the enchilada sauce in with the potato mixture so that you're getting it with every bit. I think black beans is an interesting idea too, though haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Added corn and black beans to potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunchDrunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My hubs was very skeptical of this recipe but the whole family really enoyed it. I used a taco packet that was opened already and the minced garlic for the seasoning. I added some black beans that were opened as well as a dollop of sourcream to the mixture. My potatoes were on the small side so I used 5 and I was able to get 4 good sized burritos out of this. This was wonderful and I didn't have a problem with lack of taste or dryness. I used the entire can of enchilada sauce. I'll def make again when we have excess potatoes around for a quick and easy meal. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I was skeptical at first, when I first made these I put to much potatoes in them and not enough cheese. The second time I put about half potatoes and half cheese making them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have to say I was a bit skeptical about these, but I am so glad I gave them a try. They were delicious and my whole family kept raving about them. I did make a few changes per the other reviews. I added much more spices so the potatoes were not bland. I didn't mash the potatoes, but instead kept them whole and mixed them with black beans and corns. They ended up getting somewhat mashed, but gave the burritos texture. I did add a little more cheese inside the burritos to keep them moist. I definitely suggest using a homemade enchilada sauce, because it makes all the difference. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These burritos seemed dry inside and very dense and heavy. While the taste was okay, it seemed almost dry to me. If I make this again, I would rather do the potatoes differently. I think next time I would cut them into small pieces and bake them (covered) with the spices to cook them. Then I would put together the potatoes and cheese in the tortillas, but keep them on the smaller/lighter side. It also lends itself to adding other things, like beans, onions, olives, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
wonderful spicy recipe for a cold, blustery day.very filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States