Chili Macaroni Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Tried this for the first time and it was a hit at a 4th of July cookout I attended. Didn't have all the exact ingredients so I compensated the following: Boiled 16 oz. macaroni, drained and set aside. CHILI MIXTURE - 1 pd. ground beef + 1 pd. breakfast sausage, drained then added 1/2 c. chopped onion. Added 1 can of hot dog chili sauce + 1/2 tsp. chili powder + 1 pkg. of taco seasoning mix. Added only 1 - 8 oz. can of tomato sauce + 1 - 10 oz. can of Rotel brand petite, diced, green chilies w/tomatoes + 1/2 water. Added 1 1/2 Tbs. garlic powder + 1/2 Tbs. onion powder + 1/2 tsp. black pepper + 1/2 tsp. salt + 1 tsp. sugar. (Sugar added to cut the acidity of veggies, Julia Child tip!) Added drained can of corn + 1 can of chili beans. Let come to a boil and simmer 20 minutes... CHEESE SAUCE - Substituted 11 oz. Tostito queso cheese sauce + 1 cup grated, sharp cheddar cheese + 1 cup of whole milk + only a scant of pepper and salt (omitted garlic powder). Mixed cheese sauce and macaroni and poured it into a large, oblong slow cooker (sprayed Pam prior). Poured chili mixture on next layer and poked with end of a wooden spoon to let some of the chili juices go down in macaroni to prevent sticking. Topped with remaining sharp cheddar cheese and and garnished with a few jalapenos. Turned cooker on low while I prepared dessert and got ready for my outing. (About and hour and a 1/2.) Once there, I served it with sour cream and corn chips on the side. They loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe was a huge hit by the entire family - even for hubby who 'hates' casseroles. I followed the directions but did add extra cheese on top. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I loved it! I did of course make some modifications. There are only two of us eating this so I cut the recipe in half, but still added a whole can of beans, etc... I did not add the corn (because I had just made corn casserole the previous night), or the chili packet, or the sour cream and it turned out wonderful! It's even better the following day. I will definitely be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Not sure I got the ratios right, but had too much chili flavor the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I only had one pound of ground beef to work with. What I did was throw in some chopped veggies to fill it out a bit--chopped fresh onion, chopped fresh minced garlic, chopped fresh red pepper and cubed fresh zucchini. I did use homemade taco seasoning/chili seasoning. I did not add the additional salt as condensed soup can be quite salty on it's own. My family enjoyed this casserole, all of the boys asked for seconds. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was delicious!!!! My family loved it...nothing better than mac & cheese with chili on top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
easy and yummy! I made it on the stove top, no baking, and didn't have cheddar so I used mozzarella. I also left out the chips. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I liked the idea, but bland. Will spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Really good, altough a little time consuming with all the steps. Make sure you have company coming-this makes an absolute ton of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States