Chili Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deevah
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I wish you could give half-stars because I would really rate this a 4.5. I always view the reviews before I try something and given the mixed ones for this particular recipe I didn't have high hopes...BOY WAS I SURPRISED I made the recipe as written (with the exception of using regular stewed tomatoes because I couldn't find "mexican" stewed ones) and it was VERY TASTY and I will definitely be making it again. However next time, I will probably use Rotel diced tomatoes and green chili's mainly because I didn't like big chunks of stewed tomatoes (I tried chopping them smaller but they were still to big for my liking) and I like my food spicy. The only thing I noticed was a 11 x 17 pan was a bit to big so I used a smaller 9" inch square pan and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Can't quite see why you need to bake it for 30 min. Everything is already cooked before you place it in the oven.All you need to do is melt the cheese which can be done in 10-12 min.instead of 30.Baking it for 30 min dries it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I doubled this recipe but forgot to double the tomatoes and it still came out great! I served this dish with a salad and had chopped tomatoes and scallions on the side. My husband added the tomatoes and scallions on top of the chili mac and it was even better!!! I did add a little pasta water to moisten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was far better than I expected it to be. I didn't have Mexican or chili stewed tomatoes, I only had regular stewed tomatoes, so to compensate, I added a half cup of salsa and almost a tablespoon of chili powder. Also added a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce for added flavor. I let it simmer for close to an hour before adding the elbow macaroni. I followed everything else exactly. I will make this again, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Found a recipe the kiddos will happily eat, minus the bell pepper and plus some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Quick dish that my husband and 2 year old easily enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was delicious but I was missing ingredients and made adjustments. I did not have Mexican or chili style stewed tomatoes, just plain, and I did not have packaged taco seasoning. It also seemed a little dry so I added about a half cup of salsa, a Tbsp chili powder, pinch of cumin, and half tsp garlic powder. I added about 1/2 cup more cheese and used 1.25 lbs ground beef. The salsa (I used hot) made it extra spicy so go with medium or mild for a more tame version. I will definitely make this again! This comfortably served my family of four with leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is some terrific stuff, particularly if you have kids. My 7-year-old ate it up, as did my hubby and I. Great for leftovers, too. This one's going in my permanent files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Very tasty, next time I make this I'll definitely be doubling the cheese and maybe adding a little sour cream to the mix. Or at least set it out on the table for anyone that would like to top their plate with some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States