Chili Mac, Mexican Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Mkay, how do I tell you how I changed this.... not a lot but some... First, I couldn't find pablano peppers so I used pasilla peppers (are they the same? idk), in addition I had a red bell pepper that needed using so I blackened that on up too. I used whole grain pasta that was 13 oz. so I just used it all. To compensate for the extra pasta, I added a can of rotel and a can of undrained sweet corn (more veggies and color!!!). I skipped the added salt because my chorizo was plenty salty to do the trick. Since the recipe does not state when to add the chorizo again, I did it at the very end when the pasta was done. Topped it off with a small pinch of Mexican cheese blend and a small dollop of light sour cream. Pretty healthy if you make sure to drain that chorizo! Tasty too! My 8 year old came up to me and was like, "Mom that dinner was..." , didn't say anything more but puffed up his cheeks, motioned with his hands like his head was blowing up and made an exploding noise.... I said, "What was that? You mean mind blowing?" He said...."Oooohhhh Yeah!" LOL! Silly boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CINDY18LOU
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Nice and spicy, loved it! I halved this recipe for my family of 3. The chorizo gives a smoky flavor. I omitted the salt since the canned tomatoes and chorizo have plenty of sodium already, and didn't miss it. Topped with mozerella. My 2 year old loved it! Perfect for cold weather! Bell peppers would probably work, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
OH MY GOSH!!!!! This stuff is too good to be true! Healthy easy AND so so good! Sustituted Beef chorrizo for pork and added a can of corn. The whole family enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very easy! Love the poblanos and black beans. Added a couple more garlic cloves and some cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Everyone, including my 2 year old loved this recipe. My husband said he could eat three bowls (but restrained himself). We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Ok, this was great! BUT YOU HAVE TO COOK THE PASTA BEFORE YOU MIX IT WITH ALL THE OTHER STUFF!!!!!!!!! OR AT LEAST SEMI- COOKED!!!!!! IT DOES NOT COOK LIKE THE RECIPE STATES. With that in mind....... A big hit with the family! This was VERY easy, quick, and delicious. Even my picky eater enjoyed it. I used grond beef instead of the chorizo sausage, added a can of corn. Instead of using four poblano's, I used two poplano's and two green bell peppers. This was a big hit and EVERYONE said "Mom!!! Make this again!!!" It is delicious with or with out cheddar cheese on top. (This review is based on 8 servings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T-Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe, making it for the 3rd time tonight! I use kidney beans because I prefer them and bell peppers because I find it hard to fine poblanos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
We love this recipe!! I did make some changes. I combine browned ground beef with the Chorizo, I add a can of green chile instead of poblanos, I use a package of chili mix and I add some frozen sweet corn. WE LOVE THIS SO MUCH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Quite yummy. Followed recipe exactly (except for throwing in a small can of corn and using regular oregano) and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I used 1 package of Trader Joe's soy-chorizo, and ta-da it's vegan! I also added a can of corn and some cumin. Oh and if you have a toaster oven, broil your peppers there, it is much more efficient than heating up the oven. This recipe is really easy and simple to make, and very flavorful with the perfect amount of heat. I've made this multiple times for friends to show that vegan food isn't bland and scary. This is delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States