Chili Mac, Mexican Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CINDY18LOU
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Nice and spicy, loved it! I halved this recipe for my family of 3. The chorizo gives a smoky flavor. I omitted the salt since the canned tomatoes and chorizo have plenty of sodium already, and didn't miss it. Topped with mozerella. My 2 year old loved it! Perfect for cold weather! Bell peppers would probably work, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
OH MY GOSH!!!!! This stuff is too good to be true! Healthy easy AND so so good! Sustituted Beef chorrizo for pork and added a can of corn. The whole family enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was different than I thought it would be (not very tomato-y) but the whole family really enjoyed it. Next time I'll add bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was really good! I omitted the mexican oregano since I couldn't find any, the black beans since I don't care for them, and the salt since the chorizo has plenty already. I added 1 seeded, chopped jalapeno for an added kick. My first experience with chorizo sausage and I gotta say, it is really delicious. Good stuff, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was good. Nothing spectacular, but worth making again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
NOT TO OUR TASTE- HER RECIPE WORKS OUT AS IT IS WRITTEN- AND WE LIKE CHORIZO, BUT IT'S TOO MUCH OF A CHANGE FROM OUR USUAL CHILI MAC FOR US- BUT YOU MIGHT LIKE IT--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very easy! Love the poblanos and black beans. Added a couple more garlic cloves and some cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Everyone, including my 2 year old loved this recipe. My husband said he could eat three bowls (but restrained himself). We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Ok, this was great! BUT YOU HAVE TO COOK THE PASTA BEFORE YOU MIX IT WITH ALL THE OTHER STUFF!!!!!!!!! OR AT LEAST SEMI- COOKED!!!!!! IT DOES NOT COOK LIKE THE RECIPE STATES. With that in mind....... A big hit with the family! This was VERY easy, quick, and delicious. Even my picky eater enjoyed it. I used grond beef instead of the chorizo sausage, added a can of corn. Instead of using four poblano's, I used two poplano's and two green bell peppers. This was a big hit and EVERYONE said "Mom!!! Make this again!!!" It is delicious with or with out cheddar cheese on top. (This review is based on 8 servings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T-Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe, making it for the 3rd time tonight! I use kidney beans because I prefer them and bell peppers because I find it hard to fine poblanos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States