Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Like another reviewer, I omitted the tomato juice since I was using my slow cooker and I like a thicker chili. Other than that, I followed this recipe. I cooked it on low for 9 hours. The flavor was excellent, especially for such a simple recipe. I was very pleased with the results and will definitely make again. This would be an easy recipe to tweak to your personal taste. This made 4 VERY generous servings -- probably more like 5. *****ETA: Several years later, I'm still making this chili, but I've made a couple additional changes (beside omitting the tomato juice) to make it even thicker. Now I use an extra 1/2 lb of ground beef and instead of using 15 oz of tomato sauce, I use 8 oz of tomato sauce and 6 oz of tomato paste. This chili is good the first night, but the leftovers are GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Best Ever! I made this for a football party last weekend. I was totally bummed because there wasn't any left over! I used only 1 can of beans & V8 for the tomato juice. My husband wanted it a bit spicier so next time I might try the "hot" chili seasoning. The green chili's added superb flavor, this was the best chili I ever tasted. My mother in law thought so too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
This is a yummy and easy recipe. I made it at a work potluck and everyone loved it. It tasted better the longer it stays in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Really good easy chili...I serve it with a dollop of sour cream and a bit of cheese..eaten with fritos is a great way with this too..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I gave this 4 stars since I tweaked it some and it wasn't the original recipe. We like a thicker chili and not TOO spicy because of the kids. Here's what I did: 1 lb. ground beef 1 can dark kidney beans (undrained) 1 can MANWICH sauce 1 pkg chili seasoning mix Salt; pepper; garlic powder; minced onion Brown the ground beef with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and minced onion to taste. Layer kidney beans, ground beef, chili seasoning, and MANWICH sauce in crockpot. Give it a stir to blend all ingredients and set on LOW for about 5 hrs. (Just long enough for flavors to blend and heat through). I served it with Pillsbury Garlic Butter flavor rolls. Even my kids thought it was good and not TOO spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Yeah! I have finally found a chili recipe that is super simple to prepare, and tastes great! I followed the recipe, with a couple of minor adjustments. I used 1 1/2 lbs ground beef (instead of 2 pounds - I like a soupier chili). I used 1 can dark and 1 can light kidney beans undrained (instead of the chili beans, b/c that's what I had on hand). I didn't use the 10 oz can of tomatoes w/green chili peppers (forgot it). And used 2 packages of chili seasoning mix (instead of 1 package). This tasted great, and I will definitely make this chili again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very spicy, wow! The Can of Chili's made it so hot for us that we had to put it as a pasta SAUCE instead of a chili. will try it again without chili's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickyandJohn06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is basicly the way I make it. I use 1lg. onion chopped, about 3 stalks of celery chopped, 3 pds. ground beef. 2 cans- 1 each, dark red kidney beans,and light red kidney beans, rinsed and drained. Also one can of chili beans. Not drained. You can throw diced peppers in it to with your onion and celery. I do if I have them. Then whole tomatoes, diced tomatoes, tomatoe soup, tomatoe juice. Whatever you have tomatoey. If you like it hot put some hot pepper flakes in it. I serve those on the side, husband likes it hot, children do not.Also my husband likes elbow macaroni in his chili. It doesn't bother me so I do it. Make it in a Dutch oven. If it dosen't look like enough and some water with some more spices you like. You can also scale it down for a smaller version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is a great recipe. I omitted the tomato juice and added a bottle of beer instead because we like the beer flavor and instead of chile spice I just used crushed red pepper and chili powder. Delicious! Served with fried bread for dipping.. Perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I cooked mine in the slow cooker. I don't like to add the beans until the last hour to keep them from turning to mush. I used beef broth instead of tomato juice and also added cumin because the chili seasoning pkg. didn't have enough cumin taste for us. When ground meat was thawed I just cooked, drained and added it to the pot. Served with rolled flour tortillas filled with melted grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States