Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I thought this was great, super easy and the kids enjoyed it too. Since I didn't have the tomato juice, I substitute 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and left out the tomato sauce to compensate. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
it was good but it wasn't thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very spicy, wow! The Can of Chili's made it so hot for us that we had to put it as a pasta SAUCE instead of a chili. will try it again without chili's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickyandJohn06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is basicly the way I make it. I use 1lg. onion chopped, about 3 stalks of celery chopped, 3 pds. ground beef. 2 cans- 1 each, dark red kidney beans,and light red kidney beans, rinsed and drained. Also one can of chili beans. Not drained. You can throw diced peppers in it to with your onion and celery. I do if I have them. Then whole tomatoes, diced tomatoes, tomatoe soup, tomatoe juice. Whatever you have tomatoey. If you like it hot put some hot pepper flakes in it. I serve those on the side, husband likes it hot, children do not.Also my husband likes elbow macaroni in his chili. It doesn't bother me so I do it. Make it in a Dutch oven. If it dosen't look like enough and some water with some more spices you like. You can also scale it down for a smaller version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe was great. I have been searching for a GOOD chili recipe without alot of chunky tomatoes- since my husband dosen't like them.....so I did this recipe with a few slight changes- I put the diced tomatoes and green chilies in the mini food processor first; Also did not use the tomato juice; Added fresh garlic to the meat as cooking; substituted some Tomatoe puree for the can of diced tomatoes.....cooked on low in crockpot for 2and 1/2 hours-DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I gave this 4 stars since I tweaked it some and it wasn't the original recipe. We like a thicker chili and not TOO spicy because of the kids. Here's what I did: 1 lb. ground beef 1 can dark kidney beans (undrained) 1 can MANWICH sauce 1 pkg chili seasoning mix Salt; pepper; garlic powder; minced onion Brown the ground beef with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and minced onion to taste. Layer kidney beans, ground beef, chili seasoning, and MANWICH sauce in crockpot. Give it a stir to blend all ingredients and set on LOW for about 5 hrs. (Just long enough for flavors to blend and heat through). I served it with Pillsbury Garlic Butter flavor rolls. Even my kids thought it was good and not TOO spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is a great recipe. I omitted the tomato juice and added a bottle of beer instead because we like the beer flavor and instead of chile spice I just used crushed red pepper and chili powder. Delicious! Served with fried bread for dipping.. Perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I cooked mine in the slow cooker. I don't like to add the beans until the last hour to keep them from turning to mush. I used beef broth instead of tomato juice and also added cumin because the chili seasoning pkg. didn't have enough cumin taste for us. When ground meat was thawed I just cooked, drained and added it to the pot. Served with rolled flour tortillas filled with melted grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I loved this recipe, so easy. It wasn't quite hot enough for my husband (although it was plenty spicy for me). Next time I'll spice it up more with another can of HOT green chile peppers or some red pepper flakes, or even some cayenne pepper... I'll keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
holy moly! awesome! i took the advice of other posts...it is even better re-heated! my husband took some in to the guys at work he thought it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States