Chili Dog Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is easy to make. But it is super filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I ALWAYS read reviews before cooking, and followed many suggestions, used what I had & my husband’s picky criteria. Made for 4, Hebrew National hot dogs are favorites, and had on hand. Cut hotdogs down middle, added small slices of x sharp cheddar, broiled till cheese was melted. (I maintained regular oven rack place for general baking.) Removed hot dogs from casserole, then greased casserole pan with olive oil. Moved to Cincinnati recently, ‘Skyline Chili’ is all over Cincinnati. Local stores carry their chili canned. I had a can. No beans, good for my husband will eat NO beans! I combined 1/3 quinoa with 2/3 rice. When combination was cooked I added about 2 ounces of Skyline Chili. Put combination on bottom of casserole. Putting hot dogs in tortilla shells –added about a tbsp. chili to each, rolled up, laid in casserole. Set oven at 400. Covered casserole with remaining chili (½ a can) spread on all surfaces, baked 7-10 minutes – removed –sprinkled ¼ cup extra sharp cheddar shredded, back in oven till cheese was melted. My husband did not leave a scintilla of quinoa or rice . . . and he never mentioned anything. Nothing means good. This is added to the ‘husband will eat’ relatively short list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rose Sauter Pritchett
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Good base recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was okay, and certainly easy to make, but I felt it was lacking something. With some adjustments I think it'd be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My wife has been making this for years and its one of my FAVORITES!! We use refried beans and mustard on the inside, oh and onions. Then the chilli and cheese. Reckon I have about 3lbs of it around my waist:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scott mauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Even the pickiest son loved it and he's not a fan of chili. Doubled everything but the cheese. I did cook the dogs prior to wrapping. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made this recipe for all the guys in the repair shop that work on my car. They absolutely LOVED it! I served it with Chopped onions and jalapeno peppers on the side with different mustards. It is so easy to make and so great tasting. I would recommend this for a late dinner night, or family TV night ... you will love it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was just weird. I told my hunny I think we would like it better if we were a bit drunk. I think next time I will just use the leftover chili to make actual chili dogs. Made exactly as stated about except used homemade chili instead of cans, what was on hand. Other big downfall is we cook so there is leftovers for lunch the next day and I have yet to eat mine but hunny said they don't reheat very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Amazingly simple and good. Made as directed, but just used plain chili and a whole big onion chopped on top of the two chili layers. Cooked for about 40 minutes (the wieners were perfectly warm inside) Delicious. Great with a little mustard on top and a side of fries to dip in left over chili/cheese. These seriously might replace chili dogs for me. Easier and the tortillas don't get soggy at all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Maxine..thanks for sharing great recipe. I make it every other Saturday and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States