Chili Dog Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this last night and it was pretty good. This is the same ingredients that I use when making chili dogs, so its great to incorporate it into a casserole dish. Next time I will toast my buns first. They got a little soggy after baking. Also if you can get skyline brand(Cincinnati style) chili where you live, I highly recommend it for this. And dont use the canned, use the frozen, or make it yourself! The canned always leaves the chili with a tin flavor, yuck. Overall this was a super fast and easy meal. This can be very versatile by adding different ingredients to it. I think next time it would be good to add in some rotel tomatoes! Oh yeh, by the way, I added chili cheese fritos on top to give it some crunch. They made the whole recipe! I will make again for sure, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Chili dog you eat with a fork. Yum! This was okay and made for some savory hotdogs. I did make one change though I did not cut up the buns and hot dogs. I just filled the buns w/ the hot dogs and chili as you would any regular hot dog. Then I added additional chili on top, some onions, some shredded cheese and crumbed bacon. I put this all in the oven and baked and it was really good. I topped it all off with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was pretty tasty and I'm not a huge fan of hot dogs. I almost left off the mustard as it seemed odd, but I trusted the advice of other reviews and left it. I'm glad I did; it gave it an extra kick! This was an easy low cost meal that will get added into my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made no changes to the recipe and I loved it. If you don't give this one five stars, you don't love hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I liked this dish, not enough to give it five stars my husband on the other hand ate just about the entire casserole all on his own, I had one scoop. I think it's safe to say he would give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Blankenship

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Enon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeggyC
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Halfed the recipe, used 3 toasted hot dog buns and 5 hot dogs. I tore the hot dog buns after toasting them and placed the crust side up according to the suggestions. Also i just added chopped onion to half because my husband is not a fan of onion. I did use the mustard and it tasted great. The recipe was ok. Next time i need to make some adjsutments because the bread was chewy and kind of hard. maybe just bake the hotsdogs an chili with mustard onions and cheese and serve with a piece of french bread or something. Or maybe just not toast the hotdog buns. Either way i will try it again sometime or another! Tahnks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I followed another review and changed the recipe a little. I place 2 cans of chili on the bottom of a casserole dish, followed by a layer of hot dogs, a layer of cheddar cheese, then 2 packages of jiffy corn bread, finally finish with some additional cheese on top. It is a really simple, quick Saturday lunch and my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I enjoyed this for its simplicity and ease of preparation, as well as for the taste. I only used 5 hot dog buns and toasted them in the oven while it preheated to prevent the sogginess others complained of. I used 2 cans of chili - 1 wouldn't have been enough. I also used the entire package of hot dogs and left out the onions (personal preference). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My kids want me to cook this at least once a week. I leave the mustard and onions out of it. I usually end up using a whole package of weanies. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRIL76270

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Well, many times we end up eating part of our chili dogs with a fork so why not just make a casserole?! I found this recipe and decided to try it because we had 1 leftover hamburger bun, a couple hot dog buns, and about 6 hot dogs and 2 brats. I made this in an 8x8 pan because I was using leftovers and a smaller amount of buns than recommended. I only had chili with no beans on hand so I used it with a can of chili beans for more filling. My buns weren't soggy either. They were soft on the chili side and firmer, almost crispy on the pan side. I did warm up the hot dogs and leftover brats in the microwave before adding to the casserole dish and glad I did because I'm not sure they would have heated thoroughly enough for my liking. I agree with other reviewers that if making in a 9x13 pan, more chili would be better. It wasn't the prettiest of meals on the plate, but what do you expect from a chili dog casserole?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States