Chili Dog Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was excellent - a huge hit with everyone! I followed the recipe closely, but the actual items you use can affect the flavor. We use Hebrew National hot dogs, the 97% fat free, and the spicy beanless chili by Hormel (DH will not eat beans), oh and two cans of it. For the buns I tried making my own using the Buttermilk Wheat Bread recipe that I make hamburger rolls from - they were a bit dense this time but that actually worked perfectly in this, they didn't get soggy and the bottoms got a little crispy which I really liked. For the cheese - although I love cheddar, I had some Montery Jack to use up so I used half that and half sharp cheddar. I did add the onion & mustard too, that's how I like my chili dogs anyway :) Everyone really loved this and we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe. My kids love hot dogs, so I was looking for something else to do with the and found this recipe. unfortunately it was a big salty mess. I I put the rolls down on the bottom, cut up the hot dogs and put them on top, 8 hot dogs cut up got lost on the bread, just didn't seem like enough, so I used 16 hot dogs. one can of chili didn't cover the dish, so I used 2. even the kids didn't like it, they just picked out the hot dog pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I really like this one. I used my dad's homemade chili because he always makes a ton at a time. Cheap and filling :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I followed one reviewer's advice and toasted the buns in the oven before adding the rest of the stuff and it did not come out soggy. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninakiggans
Home Town: Parris Island, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My kids liked this one a lot. I think I prefer the traditional way of making a chili dog myself. It's not like this recie makes it any easier to make a chili dog. I gave this a try because I made a big pot of chili for dinner a few nights before and I wanted to use up the left-overs and this sounded like a good way to do it. Not horrible but not an all time favorite either. Might make it again if my kids request it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was not a hit at my house, my family asked me to never make this again, my kids could not even finish a serving. The bread became soggy(I even toasted it before hand), the taste was dead on though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
just made this for dinner it was a great treat! toasted the buns first, then some cheese, chili, dill relish and mustard. then more cheese and topped with chili cheese fritos near end of heating time. no leftovers! nuff said thanks for something a little different and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was surprisingly good (: I wanted to use up some left-over chili.. and what a great way to do so. This casserole is quick and easy to put together..and hardly takes any time to bake. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Not normally what I would make, only change was to use home made bread (honey wheat) instead of the hot dog buns. A little dry, will use 2 cans chili next time, but absolutely LOVED it! Thanks for the recipe, Dana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States