Chili Dog Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I liked this dish, not enough to give it five stars my husband on the other hand ate just about the entire casserole all on his own, I had one scoop. I think it's safe to say he would give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttercup2746

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeggyC
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Halfed the recipe, used 3 toasted hot dog buns and 5 hot dogs. I tore the hot dog buns after toasting them and placed the crust side up according to the suggestions. Also i just added chopped onion to half because my husband is not a fan of onion. I did use the mustard and it tasted great. The recipe was ok. Next time i need to make some adjsutments because the bread was chewy and kind of hard. maybe just bake the hotsdogs an chili with mustard onions and cheese and serve with a piece of french bread or something. Or maybe just not toast the hotdog buns. Either way i will try it again sometime or another! Tahnks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I followed another review and changed the recipe a little. I place 2 cans of chili on the bottom of a casserole dish, followed by a layer of hot dogs, a layer of cheddar cheese, then 2 packages of jiffy corn bread, finally finish with some additional cheese on top. It is a really simple, quick Saturday lunch and my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I enjoyed this for its simplicity and ease of preparation, as well as for the taste. I only used 5 hot dog buns and toasted them in the oven while it preheated to prevent the sogginess others complained of. I used 2 cans of chili - 1 wouldn't have been enough. I also used the entire package of hot dogs and left out the onions (personal preference). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My kids want me to cook this at least once a week. I leave the mustard and onions out of it. I usually end up using a whole package of weanies. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRIL76270

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Well, many times we end up eating part of our chili dogs with a fork so why not just make a casserole?! I found this recipe and decided to try it because we had 1 leftover hamburger bun, a couple hot dog buns, and about 6 hot dogs and 2 brats. I made this in an 8x8 pan because I was using leftovers and a smaller amount of buns than recommended. I only had chili with no beans on hand so I used it with a can of chili beans for more filling. My buns weren't soggy either. They were soft on the chili side and firmer, almost crispy on the pan side. I did warm up the hot dogs and leftover brats in the microwave before adding to the casserole dish and glad I did because I'm not sure they would have heated thoroughly enough for my liking. I agree with other reviewers that if making in a 9x13 pan, more chili would be better. It wasn't the prettiest of meals on the plate, but what do you expect from a chili dog casserole?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I knew that coneys could somehow be made into a casserole. I tried using pasta but it didn't replicate the taste. Using toasted hot dog buns as the base did the trick. Also, the use of mustard and my favorite, Franks Hot Sauce, clinched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDYREHKAMP
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I made this today and the kids loved it. I tweaked it a little bit. I sautéed hot dogs in a skillet until browned and added diced onion to hot dogs and sautéed a little longer. I doubled the chili as well. I served ketchup,mustard, sour cream and diced pickles on the side for toppings of choice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is a really good kid-friendly recipe. If you use whole grain buns, low-fat cheese, low-fat chili it also can be pretty healthy. Thanks! And it's easy to make - always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was good, and a nice way to change up coneys. To cut calories, I used only 5 buns, 97% fat free hot dogs, and only 1 cup of cheese. All mixed together, you really couldn't tell that I used lighter ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States