Chili Dog Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
took this to a 4th of july bbq and it was a huge hit! everyone was asking for the recipe... best part was it is very kid friendly which is a major plus for family events. i skipped out on using the buns and just used the fritos as suggested by other reviewers. i also recommend using two cans of chili as well. on top i sprinkled a mexican/taco blend of shredded cheese instead of the plain cheddar... sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
good, easy and kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Stowers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Here is what I did based on reviews: I only used 4 hot dogs and buns and a smaller baking dish. I used 1 can of chili, 1 tbsp. dried diced onions, and 1 cup cheese. I left off the mustard due to personal preference. I opened up the hot dog buns with the crust side up, per another reviewers suggestion. Turned out pretty good! Even one of my picky sons ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is the best and tastiest way to use leftovers! I used hot dogs from a barbecue and old hot dog buns. I left the hot dog buns sit overnight (they became stale) and I used Castleberry's Hot Dog Chili which is low cal but tasty. My brother-in-law, a former Army Cook, prefers potato buns versus hot dog buns. Either way, this is a great recipe. Eye ball the ingredients and use more versus less hot dog chili. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Made this tonight! Used my homemade chili, it was pretty good, my house was divided as to whether they liked it or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great for a quick meal that's easy to put together. Does it show off expert cunlinary skills? Um, no. Is it a heart healthy meal? Definitely not. But after a long work day and late arrival home, I needed something I could get in the oven in minutes. My family ate it, and oldest DD proclaimed "I really like this!" I chopped up a whole package of hot dogs, tore up 6 buns, used 3 cans of chili and no onions (didn't feel like messing with it). I didn't measure the mustard, just squirted it on and then topped everything with the cheese. It baked for about 1/2 hour and was ready to eat! Definitely will be using this recipe again. Want to try it with leftover homemeade chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I am not a fan of canned chili therefore I used brick chili. Canned chili to me is very runny. And I used the hog dogs whole not cut up. Nothing left in the pan. Everybody loved it. I have one grandson who doesn't like onion's so maybe next time I will make 2 one with onion's and one without. Also used Pepper Jack Cheese for a little kick. Will make many more times. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great for using up leftover Chili! My toddlers and I just had it for lunch. Did nothing special, but my bread came out crispy on the bottom. Great and Simple Idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My family and I love this recipe. The only thing we do differently now is, instead of buns on the bottom, We fry some french- fries. Its awesome this way. You get chili dogs and chili cheese fries at the same time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was excellent - a huge hit with everyone! I followed the recipe closely, but the actual items you use can affect the flavor. We use Hebrew National hot dogs, the 97% fat free, and the spicy beanless chili by Hormel (DH will not eat beans), oh and two cans of it. For the buns I tried making my own using the Buttermilk Wheat Bread recipe that I make hamburger rolls from - they were a bit dense this time but that actually worked perfectly in this, they didn't get soggy and the bottoms got a little crispy which I really liked. For the cheese - although I love cheddar, I had some Montery Jack to use up so I used half that and half sharp cheddar. I did add the onion & mustard too, that's how I like my chili dogs anyway :) Everyone really loved this and we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States