Chili Dog Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I first downloaded this recipe in 2001, and have used it too many times too count, and given the recipe to a lot of friends. This is one of my favorite "comfort" food casseroles. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is as close as you're going to get without making individual chili dogs. The bread nearest the bottom gets a little crunchy making a nice crust. I usually double the dogs and the chili. One package of buns is enough to carry it. We all like it. I would suggest however to reserve some "home made" chili and not using canned. It's a taste thing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
What a fun meal! My 15 year old daughter made this for our family. Not the healthiest..but definately quick, easy and fun. My husband loves hot dogs and chili and always smothers it with mustard..so we were sure he would like it..and he did. My daughter used a little less bun, a bit more hot dog, chili and cheese, but pretty much kept it the same as the recipe. She did place the buns in the oven while it preheated as someone suggested and the buns were not soggy at all. We will keep and use this one..thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenHazard
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
my hubby and twins loved this. i liked it myself, quite a compliment considering i'm not too big on hot dogs. it was easy and all in one dish. seems less messy than the traditional chili dog. i tore up the buns into chunks, and added sliced jalapenos to one side of the dish. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oh! cooking mama!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Simple, cheap, and my boyfriend thought this was awesome (he LOVES hot dogs, for whatever reason, I'm not sure). :) I didn't have any hotdog buns, so I used 3 whole wheat hamburger buns. Split them in half, left each side whole instead of tearing them up, and layed them in a casserole dish, stuck them under the broiler for about 5 minutes, flipped them over and broiled for another 5 or so. They were nice and crispy after this and held the crispiness even after the chili was added. I used 1 can of Hormel Chili that had Tabasco in it and spooned that onto each hamburger bun, covered with cheese and baked for 25 minutes, then added another layer of cheese for the last 5 minutes. Omitted the mustard and onion since my boyfriend isn't a fan of either, but the Tabasco in the chili made up for any lack of flavor. The hamburger buns worked perfectly because it designated portion size. My boyfriend thought this was great 'man-food', so I'll add it to my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Loved the recipe, but would take out the mustard. Didn't really do anything for the recipe, just the random bite, and then you taste it. I really like the way that the crispy buns tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I thought this wa excellent! An easy and fast way to make a great crowd pleasing dinner. I omitted the onions and it was really great. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
this was really good. i didnt use any hot dog buns, instead i used tortilla chips. i just layered the chips with the hot dog pieces, covered with 2 cans of chili and topped with cheddar cheese. served with sour cream on top. yummy!!!! hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I have got to say this was easy and very good. I toasted the buns first and used double the amount of chili. Served it with onions and mustard on the side. Yummy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My husband loves this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States