Chili Cumin Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The chicken turned out moist and tender, but the taste just wasn't there. It was lacking something and was somewhat bland. Served it over yellow rice with brocolli and cauliflower for the sides. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Woo hoo!! This Mexican chicken comes the closest to an old family favorite for which I had lost the recipe, so I started with this and then added the changes I remembered from the old one. Let me tell you - this one is a whole lot easier - you will see why :). Although it is very different, I may have the secret you all seem to be missing for the spiciness. My old recipe called for a whole green chile per chicken breast. Open it up and fill the chile with a thick chunky strip of monterey jack cheese and either sliced or chopped black olives, cilantro and diced onion is optional. Closing the "stuffing" up in the green chile before rolling the chicken makes it easier to manage while you roll it up and fasten with toothpicks, roll in beaten egg and crushed tortilla chips and brown in oil. Place in baking dish. Whew! See what I meant by the originl being easier? Then take an envelope of dry enchilada sauce mix and stir it down into a can of diced mexican tomatoes and dump that on top of the chicken. Sprinkle with shredded cheddar and bake uncovered for about 40 minutes at 375. Let it sit for abou 10 minutes before serving to allow the cheese to set back up a little. I like to slice it before serving because it really shows off the layers. My family calls this "Wow, you must be 'someone important ' bccause Mom says this chicken is just too darn much trouble to make for just the family." Sighhh... what are you gonna do with them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I'm sorry, but I didn't find much redeeming about this recipe. I added fresh garlic plus extra seasoning, and I still thought it was bland. Also, I checked my crock pot at about two hours, and the mixture was starting to burn. I had to add a bit of water to keep it from burning until it was actually done. (I used an instant read thermometer to check.) And finally, I don't know that stuffing and rolling the chicken breasts would be any better than just coating them with the mixture and baking. Thanks anyway....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Its okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I changed a few things up a bit, but only because I needed to accommodate what I had on hand. I let the chicken breasts marinate in taco seasoning, red wine vinegar, and hot sauce - my boyfriend likes it very spicy. I didn't have any green pepper, but I did throw in part of a diced jalapeno. Because I was short on time, I followed one reviewer's advice and cooked it covered in the oven at 350 for 40 minutes. Before putting it in the baking dish, I lined the bottom of the dish with some salsa. I used the leftover filling as topping. It turned out excellent, and it got rave reviews from my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ok_songbird
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Fun and easier to prepare than expected, and went over quite well. Used a reviewer's suggestion and baked it rather than crock potting, since we wanted to eat! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charcell
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was so easy and soooooo good. i listened to another review and used salsa instead of the tomatos only because i dont like tomato. I put the chicken over white rice and it was amazing. i also only used 2 breasts but kept everything else the same! turned out perfect! will make this plenty more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Not sure why, but the cheese seemed to vanish by the time this was cooked. THere was plenty of juice, but not really a sauce. I really love sauce, so I missed that there wasn't any, and of course, think that it would have tasted better if the cheese would have become more saucelike. Otherwise, good, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esiuolm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
With a few personal changes, I thought that this was one of the best stuffed chicken dishes I have ever tasted. First, I would suggest doubling the stuffing per the number of chicken breasts you are making (if you are making 2 breasts, follow the recipe as is.) I also doubled the tomato, added 1/4 cup red onion, 1/4 cup of diced green chiles, and a 1/2 teaspoon of red chile flakes. To make the chicken extra moist, I glazed the stuffed chickens with a little store-bought taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I gave it more stars because it was so easy to make and and easy quick go to for a slowcooker. The cheese did all melt away so next time I would add a little more cheese maybe in the last 10 minutes to the top of each chicken. I made this for company and got good reviews. I made an extra breast for another meal for me. When I reheated it I added cheese to the top...I felt it was much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States