Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Fabulous!!! This frosting is out of this world! The cinnamon and the ancho chile pepper & cayenne really set eachother off. I doubled the vanilla (I do in every recipe), but didn't change anything else. For people worried about it being too spicy as written, don't fret. I can't handle spice at all, but had no problem with this frosting. Absolutely fantastic; a must try. Used this on the submitter's cupcake recipe, Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting. Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is delicious! I kind of had to play around with it since I didn't have ancho chilis and I wanted a bit more spice, but that's just my personal preference. The idea of this sounds a bit odd, but is genius. It's very tasty. I used to to frost chocolate pumpkin cake form this site, and I must use it on more baked goods now (or even by itself). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Moo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!! I need to confess that I was totally eating this right from the spoon and loved every bite of it, lol. The flavor of this icing is fantastic and it really compliments the chili chocolate cupcakes perfectly, though I do believe that this icing would be fantastic on a variety of cakes. I did end up having to add more powdered sugar than called for just to get it to the right piping consistancy. I will definately be using this recipe over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I just loved this frosting and the person who I made the cake for just loves chili and was so happy to eat this. I added a little more spice to personal preference and used it on the black magic cake from this site. We were seriously eating this with teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Made this frosting with bacon cupcakes. The family was a bit hesitant at first, but they loved it! I did add just a bit more cayenne as my family likes more heat, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I altered this a bit more by using more cream cheese. I would also use a bit more chile pepper and cayenne next time for a bit more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was fantastic! I used this frosting on my pumkin cake III from this site and it was delicious. The only thing I added was 1/2 tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice. Perfect! Thanx Candice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceSevenfold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
As the author of this recipe, I was a little bit timid about the amount of chili powders. I was requested to up both the Ancho and Cayenne pepper powder and I think I like it a tad bit spicer. Who knew? I did NOT up the cinnamon. This cupcake is just good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
LOVE this frosting! The teachers who first tasted this with the chocolate cupcakes requested this frosting with pumpkin cupcakes. So of course I had to make that for them. It's perfect with Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes from this site. Or with any other kind of cupcake for that matter. When I know that this will mainly be eaten by those who like a zing to their sweets, I'll add more cayenne! And maybe just a little ground ginger, too. It's perfect! Thanks, Candice, for making me look like a superstar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very good on chocolate cupcakes! But for the life of me I can not find ancho chiles pepper anywhere. I used chipotle chile pepper, but someday I would like to try the recipe as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States