Chili Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was a fantastic recipie, and I come from a long line of Mexican cooks. The only adjustment I made was that I blended together some ground pasilla chili with the mild california chili for a darker richer flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty and even better the next day! Served it over rice with black beans, sour cream, cheese and tortillas. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
In all honesty I cannot give this 5 stars because I changed it a bit to fit my time constraints and personal tastes. First, I doubled the recipe. I slow cooked it for 6 hours on low because it seemed to be possible with this recipe and I didn't have time to stand around my house to simmer it on the stove. I did not brown the meat and just tossed and coated it with 6 tablespoons of flour. I prefer Chili Colorado made with beef, so I used beef stew meat. I used an whole small onion and added a pinch of fresh garlic. Since I cooked it with my slow cooker I just used 4 cups of water instead of 6, even though I doubled the recipe because slow cookers have a tendency to make things soupy. I doubled all the seasonings according to the measurements provided and added about 1/2 a teaspoon of cayenne for a little more heat. Turned out absolutely wonderful! Served it with homemade spanish rice and chile pepper tamales. Thanks for this great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jtrocks1356
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe is straight and to the point, yet very effective! It was my first time making chili and it came out exactly how I wanted it to. I followed the recipe as is except I used stew beef instead. I cut those up into smaller pieces and found it wasn't as thick as I wanted it, so I also threw in some ground beef into the initial cooking of the meat. After I added everything else it was too thin for what I was looking for so I took leftover meat from the pasta sauce we had the other night and broke it up and threw it in there, making it just perfect. I threw in an assortment of spices, such as cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper, chipotle pepper, and even some paprika and Worcestershire sauce and it came out spicy yet very flavorful. Would recommend this to anyone who likes a great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
My husband always orders this in our favorite resteraunt. He said this was the closest to it he's ever had. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jigger Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cascade, Montana, USA
Living In: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This recipe is awesome! Easy to make and has a lot of flavor. My only tweak was to add cayenne pepper and the bacon (from getting the bacon fat to cook the pork in). Served this was Spanish rice and it was a hit. My girlfriend raves about it (and have a double batch simmering on the stove as I write this). Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Good. Most chili I make has a big tomato base, so this was different (a GOOD different). I didn't have pork, but I used beef stew meat. This had a smooth beef flavor. The texture was much too runny for what I prefer, so I thickened it and added red beans in the pot. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very Good! I did change a couple things but not much. Instead of 3 cups of water I did 3 cups of low sodium chicken broth. I didn't have to add much salt after that. I added some Tapitia Hot sauce to add a little Spice. Excellant will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
After 3 hours of cooking this was still too soupy for me. So I added 1/2 a pound of cooked pinto beans and cooked for 2 more hours. I also had to double the spice and add a pinch of cayenne to give this the flavor I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
First time to ever use pork in chili and it was amazingly good. I had to adjust a couple of things based on my hubbies taste buds, as he won't eat cooked onions and likes beans and hot spices in his chili. Other than that everything else was the same. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States