Chili Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was a great chili recipe. It even received rave reviews from my very picky husband! I used country style pork ribs. I didn't have an onion, so I did without. I also used a few cloves of fresh garlic rather than garlic powder, and added a can of kidney beans. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed the concept of this recipe. I started out following the instructions 100%, but as time passed and the flavors began to meld, I updated it a bit. That's not to detract anything from the original recipe, it's just catering to our personal tastes. I doubled the recipe (3 lb pork butt) - it was very easy to dice the roast into smaller chunks by throwing into the freezer for a couple hours prior. After doubling all the other ingredients I found it a bit bland so I *again* doubled the amount of spices (so 1/2 cup chili powder, etc). Then I realized it was the perfect soup/stew to clean out the veggie drawer! In went chopped carrots, my leftover lone zucchini, a couple stalks of celery. About a half hour before it was done I threw in what was left in the orzo box - probably a cup or so. I tell you what, I challenge you to find a more hearty meal than that. So while I did stray from the exact recipe a little, we found something that is sure to be a family favorite for years to come! Fantastic base recipe (the meat is to die for) that is wonderful to cater to your family's taste buds. Sorry for the long-winded review. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very easy, and good flavor. I made the mistake of adding a bit more water due to other reveiw stating not enough sauce, well mine was too thin. Had to thicken at the end but still turned out good. My husband said would like better if thicker too. Next time will stick to the origianl amount. Think will add some fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This recipe was so easy and tasted great. I added a tablespoon of cayenne to spice it up and it came out great. Very easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Sanders

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Though I used cubed stew beef instead of the pork (I don't like pork), we all enjoyed this chili. I'll definitely keep this in my recipe box to make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I like this recipe because it did not call for too many ingredients. I double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
the recipe was good the family loved it. very simple and easy to make. good for a meal to prepare and then leave on the stove simmering for hours. only problem was not enough sauce. next time make more sauce. it thickens alot while cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I don't think it gets any easier than this. Full of great flavor! The heat level is just right, too. It has some punch but doesn't overpower the flavor of the meal. I served it with brown rice, whole wheat tortillas, and sour cream. My husband went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was very good. I used pork country stips because that was the only meat I had, and it turned out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The entire family really liked this recipe! The only thing I would do different next time is slow cook the pork then shread it, that's just a matter of preferance. Not too hot, not too mild, served it with Trader Joes brand spanish rice (the best!) and tortillas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States