Chili Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'm eating this right now for lunch, leftovers from a few days ago. This is the final bowl and it's very good. It is a little soupy but we didn't mind because it fit the bill and it has such a goooooooood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe to a "T" as I always do with new recipes. It was SO delicious! I cannot understand how this site can have a recipe for Colorado Green Chili or how someone can say it's not like any Chili Colorado they've had in the state. I too, live in Colorado. For the uneducated, "colorado" is the Spanish word for "red". This is Mr. Shepard's version of it. Again, delicious! The second time I decided to get cute and add different things. Mistake. Never mess with perfection. Thanks for a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Very tasty. Will definitely make again! I served it over quinoa, paired up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
great! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was a fantastic recipie, and I come from a long line of Mexican cooks. The only adjustment I made was that I blended together some ground pasilla chili with the mild california chili for a darker richer flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty and even better the next day! Served it over rice with black beans, sour cream, cheese and tortillas. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
In all honesty I cannot give this 5 stars because I changed it a bit to fit my time constraints and personal tastes. First, I doubled the recipe. I slow cooked it for 6 hours on low because it seemed to be possible with this recipe and I didn't have time to stand around my house to simmer it on the stove. I did not brown the meat and just tossed and coated it with 6 tablespoons of flour. I prefer Chili Colorado made with beef, so I used beef stew meat. I used an whole small onion and added a pinch of fresh garlic. Since I cooked it with my slow cooker I just used 4 cups of water instead of 6, even though I doubled the recipe because slow cookers have a tendency to make things soupy. I doubled all the seasonings according to the measurements provided and added about 1/2 a teaspoon of cayenne for a little more heat. Turned out absolutely wonderful! Served it with homemade spanish rice and chile pepper tamales. Thanks for this great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jtrocks1356
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe is straight and to the point, yet very effective! It was my first time making chili and it came out exactly how I wanted it to. I followed the recipe as is except I used stew beef instead. I cut those up into smaller pieces and found it wasn't as thick as I wanted it, so I also threw in some ground beef into the initial cooking of the meat. After I added everything else it was too thin for what I was looking for so I took leftover meat from the pasta sauce we had the other night and broke it up and threw it in there, making it just perfect. I threw in an assortment of spices, such as cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper, chipotle pepper, and even some paprika and Worcestershire sauce and it came out spicy yet very flavorful. Would recommend this to anyone who likes a great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
My husband always orders this in our favorite resteraunt. He said this was the closest to it he's ever had. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jigger Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cascade, Montana, USA
Living In: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This recipe is awesome! Easy to make and has a lot of flavor. My only tweak was to add cayenne pepper and the bacon (from getting the bacon fat to cook the pork in). Served this was Spanish rice and it was a hit. My girlfriend raves about it (and have a double batch simmering on the stove as I write this). Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States