Chili Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
One of the Best Chili Colorado recipes we have found. Pork or Beef can be used. The key ingredient is chili powder so the higher the quality the better the taste. We make this as written except we prefer some fresh garlic sautéed with the onions. which I saute in the bacon fat or olive oil prior to cooking the meat. I just remove them from the pan and add back in later after the meat has browned with the other ingredients. I also prefer broth instead of water. We have made this several times and everyone who has tried it has liked it as much as we do. Thank you Ron for a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I doubled the recipe except for the water. I used 4 cups of water and increased the flour by 2 tablespoons to further thicken the sauce. Once the meat was cooked as described in the recipe, I added mexicali rose beans,lime cilantro rice, and cheese to a large flour tortilla and made an excellent burrito. It was topped off with more sauce and cheese and placed under the broiler until the cheese was nicely melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karogers
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Fabulous recipe. I served atop of refried bean burritos. My only complaint was no veggies - so I added carrots and zucchini. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I am giving this 4 stars only for the fact that I don't use the tomato sauce. Instead I add red chili sauce along with chipotle powder, oregano, a couple bay leaves. This is the recipe my DH has been searching for! My MIL used to add potatoes so that's what I do as well! I serve the whole thing over rice. 10 stars!! Thank you Ron, please forgive me for taking liberties with your recipe! It was so very close to mine, you might as well benefit since you got something published! ;)(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Could use a little more spice, in it's current state it's a little plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Big hit with hubbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great recipe! We like a little heat in our food, so, I added a jalapeno and about half a red pepper to the mix. I added a couple of fresh garlic cloves as well. When it was ready to come off the stove, I took the pork pieces out and used a hand held blender to smooth out the sauce. Put the pork pieces back in the sauce and it was delicious!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The basic recipe is good I find it can be made with beef as well, which is what usually in chili Colorado. I add 4 to 5 Ancho chilies which I soften in warm water and puree in a blender with the other spices, I also add some cayenne pepper as we like some heat. I make mine in a Dutch oven starting on the stovetop then after everything is in the pot I put it in the oven at 250 degrees and let it simmer there for about 3 hours or so, Low and slow is the ticket!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JS Mooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Alaska, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Added some chorizo I had lying around and only had about 3/4 lb of pork stew meat, so I added less water and a can of pinto beans. DELICIOUS! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'm eating this right now for lunch, leftovers from a few days ago. This is the final bowl and it's very good. It is a little soupy but we didn't mind because it fit the bill and it has such a goooooooood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States