Chili Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I am giving this 4 stars only for the fact that I don't use the tomato sauce. Instead I add red chili sauce along with chipotle powder, oregano, a couple bay leaves. This is the recipe my DH has been searching for! My MIL used to add potatoes so that's what I do as well! I serve the whole thing over rice. 10 stars!! Thank you Ron, please forgive me for taking liberties with your recipe! It was so very close to mine, you might as well benefit since you got something published! ;)(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Could use a little more spice, in it's current state it's a little plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Big hit with hubbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great recipe! We like a little heat in our food, so, I added a jalapeno and about half a red pepper to the mix. I added a couple of fresh garlic cloves as well. When it was ready to come off the stove, I took the pork pieces out and used a hand held blender to smooth out the sauce. Put the pork pieces back in the sauce and it was delicious!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The basic recipe is good I find it can be made with beef as well, which is what usually in chili Colorado. I add 4 to 5 Ancho chilies which I soften in warm water and puree in a blender with the other spices, I also add some cayenne pepper as we like some heat. I make mine in a Dutch oven starting on the stovetop then after everything is in the pot I put it in the oven at 250 degrees and let it simmer there for about 3 hours or so, Low and slow is the ticket!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JS Mooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Alaska, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Added some chorizo I had lying around and only had about 3/4 lb of pork stew meat, so I added less water and a can of pinto beans. DELICIOUS! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'm eating this right now for lunch, leftovers from a few days ago. This is the final bowl and it's very good. It is a little soupy but we didn't mind because it fit the bill and it has such a goooooooood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe to a "T" as I always do with new recipes. It was SO delicious! I cannot understand how this site can have a recipe for Colorado Green Chili or how someone can say it's not like any Chili Colorado they've had in the state. I too, live in Colorado. For the uneducated, "colorado" is the Spanish word for "red". This is Mr. Shepard's version of it. Again, delicious! The second time I decided to get cute and add different things. Mistake. Never mess with perfection. Thanks for a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Very tasty. Will definitely make again! I served it over quinoa, paired up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
great! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States