Chili Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Could use a little more spice, in it's current state it's a little plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Big hit with hubbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great recipe! We like a little heat in our food, so, I added a jalapeno and about half a red pepper to the mix. I added a couple of fresh garlic cloves as well. When it was ready to come off the stove, I took the pork pieces out and used a hand held blender to smooth out the sauce. Put the pork pieces back in the sauce and it was delicious!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The basic recipe is good I find it can be made with beef as well, which is what usually in chili Colorado. I add 4 to 5 Ancho chilies which I soften in warm water and puree in a blender with the other spices, I also add some cayenne pepper as we like some heat. I make mine in a Dutch oven starting on the stovetop then after everything is in the pot I put it in the oven at 250 degrees and let it simmer there for about 3 hours or so, Low and slow is the ticket!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammer551

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Alaska, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Added some chorizo I had lying around and only had about 3/4 lb of pork stew meat, so I added less water and a can of pinto beans. DELICIOUS! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'm eating this right now for lunch, leftovers from a few days ago. This is the final bowl and it's very good. It is a little soupy but we didn't mind because it fit the bill and it has such a goooooooood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe to a "T" as I always do with new recipes. It was SO delicious! I cannot understand how this site can have a recipe for Colorado Green Chili or how someone can say it's not like any Chili Colorado they've had in the state. I too, live in Colorado. For the uneducated, "colorado" is the Spanish word for "red". This is Mr. Shepard's version of it. Again, delicious! The second time I decided to get cute and add different things. Mistake. Never mess with perfection. Thanks for a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Very tasty. Will definitely make again! I served it over quinoa, paired up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
great! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was a fantastic recipie, and I come from a long line of Mexican cooks. The only adjustment I made was that I blended together some ground pasilla chili with the mild california chili for a darker richer flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States