Chili Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I seasoned the meat first with season salt, let sit overnight in fridge. then added the sauce the next day, and baked on 425, for 30 mins. I don't have a grill. you will need more sauce, that's why I took off a star, I used this exact recipe, for only 6 pieces of chicken. I also took off a star, because you have to season the meat first, for a burst of flavor. I used "Mae Ploy" sweet chili sauce, it's BOMB! with tons of flavor, you can get it from Wal-Mart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mz~diyari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Not bad. Not may favorite thing to do chicken in, but I will keep it in my recipe box and probably make it again sometime, probably with a twist. Because I'm like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This came out kind of bland for me. Maybe the problem was that I used pork chops instead of chicken. But I figured it's the "other" white meat so it should work. I also added garlic powder and black pepper. Didn't add salt because of the soy sauce. Also used an inside grill pan. Other than that, I followed the recipe as is. If it wasn't for the garlic powder and pepper I wouldn't have tasted anything. And it needed salt after all! Maybe I'll try again, but this time add chopped garlic and chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandel L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Really good! I love that it has so few ingredients and ones that I have on hand. Quick and easy with great flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Love it! Used thighs and baked them instead. Umm, also I forgot that I did not have sweet chili sauce so I used a Korean BBQ sauce instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My family loved this dish! I doubled the honey, Mae Ploy sweet chili sauce and soy sauce, mainly because I wanted to marinatwe the drumsticks well. With doubling it, the marinade came up to the side of the drumsticks, in a 9" by 13" pryex dish. In order to get both sides soaked, I turned the chicken halfway through the 7 hour marinating time. I baked the chicken in the sauce. I served the chicken with steamed brown rice and the sauce was delicious on the rice. The chicken was so tender, it was falling off the bone! This recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks, Margot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was a hit at our house! Very easy to put together and very flavorful! I think next time I would make a little extra sauce to dip in, but no changes other than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was just okay. I ended up adding BBQ sauce to my chicken to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcevans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is pretty good! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and marinated for over 24 hours then we grilled on charcoal. I'm sure the drumsticks would be just as good but the breasts were flavorful and slightly sweet. I think adding a little tang would be a good addition (like a tablespoon of pomegranate vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The flavor did not come through. May have been the sweet chili sauce we used. Not sure but very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUKHASA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States