Chili Cheese Dip III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I've also been making this recipe for years, and it's great!!! It's a huge hit with all my friends, coworkers, and family. We call it "macho nacho" dip! I use 1 cream cheese, 1 can chili no beans, and whatever mexican/cheddar shredded cheese I have, with unflavored tortilla chips. The low-fat cream cheese doesn't have quite as good of a texture, but it's not bad. I always do it in the oven - microwave doesn't get the cheese on top brown & bubbly! :-) If making for people you know like beans, chili w/ beans is great, but for potlucks/parties, I've found most people do NOT like beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I am making this again for football snacks this Sunday. I think this is best made with your own leftover homemade chili then it is just as good the first day as the second day. I also bake mine; I just like the cheese to get slightly browned. I have made this with a Monterey Jack and cheddar mixture, very good. Spreading a little sour cream over the chili before topping with cheese is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Good stuff! Goes perfectly with Frito Lay Scoops and sour cream. A great choice if you're in a hurry and need to make something for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Made this and everbody loved it!! I think next time tho I'll add an extra can of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was runny until I made my boyfriend go the store to get another can of chili. Once the second can was added, it wasn't bad. Also, I used the taco-blend cheese (and a little more of it) and added a can of diced green chiles for come kick. Now the taste got even better! Since I'm not a fan of those hormel canned chili, which is what I used, I might try this recipe again with my own leftover, homemade chili and see if there is even additional improvement. It's a good basic to start with though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Excellent flavor and presentation! But best of all its so quick and easy, which is a must for a tasty hor d'oeuvre for unannouced company. Thanks for sharing, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Very good! At first, I thought that cream cheese wouldn't be good in this, but it was perfect. Just like sour cream. Makes quit a bit! I used a 19 oz can of chili instead of the suggested 15 oz. And also used a 12 oz of shredded cheese instead of the 16 oz. Turned out perfect. Neext time, I'll add green onions and salsa. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This recipe is easy and good, but I could literally feel myself getting fatter with every bite. Before it was finished, we had to cover it up so we couldn't see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I used only half of cream cheese and chedar and it was great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I originally adopted this recipe from a friend of mine. The ingredients are similar, except we use 1 can of chili for every package of cream cheese. We also add a jar of jalapeno peppers and a tsp cumin and chili pepper. ****A tip for tastier chips*** Typically instead of purchasing regular tortilla chips, I learned from a gf that you can achieve a restaurant style chip by purchasing tortilla shells (like burrito shells) at your supermarket. Make sure they are the Mexican version because regular ones will be crackly and very oily. Cut them in the desired size, and fry them in oil until lightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States