Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I had a few decisions to make on the ingredients here, since the recipe wasn't entirely clear. For the chili: with beans or without? I chose "with". For the taco sauce: mild, medium or hot? I chose "medium". For the cheddar cheese: sharp or mild? I chose "mild". Should the can of corn be drained or not? I mostly drained it without thinking before I stopped myself - no big deal, I'm sure. For the egg noodles: wide or extra wide? I got the wide ones. Also, my can of tomatoes said only "diced" - presumably they were peeled too. I couldn't find a couple of the ingredient sizes in my store - 15.25 oz. can of corn instead of 15, and I used half of a 16 oz. package of egg noodles, since I've never seen an 8 oz. one. Anyhow, I'm compulsive about following recipes to the letter. It didn't say how long to simmer the meat/veggie mixture, so I just simmered it for "a while". It was pretty easy to make, but when all was said and done, I thought the dish was just okay. It was fairly saucy after only 20 minutes of baking - I would've liked it to be less so. And I would've liked a lot more cheese. It lasted me for four meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I give this 3 stars as written, because it was pretty boring until I made a few adjustments. First of all, I added some garlic powder, cumin, hot sauce, a splash of lime juice, and s&p. I used more cheese, and topped it with some roughly crushed Ranch-flavored chips. This was an unbelievably easy and very tasty meal. I would definitely make this again. Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I'd leave out the celery(it added nothing) and add even more cheese. It was really good and both my kids and hubby liked it! I used fresh garden tomaotes, which I feel added to the flavor. Even better days later as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Very easy and very tasty! I used less onion and celery because I have a picky eater in my family. But even the picky eater had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
this was awesome. the only thing I changed was that I sauteed the onion and celery in olive oil then added the beef. I was scared that the celery would be crunchy if I didn't. I also added a little salsa for a little extra punch! This is a wonderful weeknight meal...fast, easy and delicious! Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Pretty good...I used Hunts caned tomatoes with onion celery & garlic....these mixes are very convinient...But it was even better the next day after I mixed in a bit of salsa.... Verry good for leftovers.. Thanks! C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This wasn't a favorite at our house. It was good but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This recipe was easy and very yummy!! I would put extra cheese in mixed in the casserole. I served it with a dollup (sp?) of sour cream on each serving and with corn bread. I have recommended this recipe to several of my friends. thanks Sarah, Nicole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This one gets mixed reviews in my house. He likes it but like it better when I add chili powder, I like it as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
GREAT dinner idea!! We loved this. I don't care for egg noodles so I used shell noodles instead an increased the taco sauce (we used mild) to 3/4 cup to make it creamier. It tastes just as it was named...like chili...casserole style. Thanks Sarah for this easy and tasty dish. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States