Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is a simple recipe but I definitely made some customizations. I used 1 lb of ground turkey, fresh salsa (pre-packaged by Giant), red, yellow, and orange peppers, chili seasoning, crushed red peppers, diced tomatoes w/green chiles, garbanzo and black beans, whole wheat wide noodles, corn, and shredded cheddar and mexican flavor cheese. I pretty much followed the cooking instructions and substituted my ingredients in where necessary. I put the noodles in first and then mixed the meat mixture with the noodles. Halfway through I mixed in cheese and then finished adding the meat mixture. Then I topped with fresh salsa and more cheese. I baked for 20 minutes and it came out pretty well. My only adjustment next time would be to add more spice so that it is a little hotter and to cook longer because it was a little loose and didn't hold together. I will cook it for maybe 30-40 minutes and then add the cheese on top at the very end. Other than that it is a great recipe and I definitely recommend twirking it to meet your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made my own chili (spices) with the meat, added chili powder, cumin, crushed garlic, and cayenne pepper, sauteed onion. Left out the celery. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I couldn't even taste the taco sauce...my opinion leave it out. Added a lot more cheese about 2 cups. Using the taco packet and taco sauce could be a whole different dish, which would not be chili casserole but taco casserole. Overall a good dish for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My kids loved this! I just thought it was a little bland...probably would help to salt the water for the noodles, and the ground beef. I actully used venison; worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I just made this today for dinner. It was delicious, my hubby loved it too :) I didn't have any corn, or taco sauce so I used some salsa and a little bit of chili powder instead. My can of chili had cheddar chz in it, so I didn't put any on top, just some american chz that I had. I also only used 1 lb. of meat-and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I used taco seasoning rather then taco sauce as suggested by other reviewers. I also used penne pasta since I didn't have egg noodles on hand. My husband said there wasn't enough cheese. The flavor was kind of bland. Couldn't give this recipe a rave review. It was just alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
My family really liked this. I added tace seasoning to the meat and added 2 cups of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This recipe really deserves 5 stars, but I altered it some! No celery, but did saute the onion w/meat. Used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, added a few shakes of chili powder, s&p, garlic & onion powder. I let it simmer and tasted. Needed something, so used 1 beef bouillon cube to 1/2 cup water and let it simmer a little bit longer. PERFECT!!! Also I used the spiral noodles (Rotini) in the bottom of the casserole (cooked very aldente), then the chili mix and put plenty of cheese over the top. I baked 10 minutes covered and another 10 uncovered. My family devoured it, thank you so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe is so mch better than I expected. I made a few changes: I cooked the ground beef with taco seasoning rather than using taco sauce, I omitted the celery, used chili with beans, and used frozen corn rather than tinned. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I had a few decisions to make on the ingredients here, since the recipe wasn't entirely clear. For the chili: with beans or without? I chose "with". For the taco sauce: mild, medium or hot? I chose "medium". For the cheddar cheese: sharp or mild? I chose "mild". Should the can of corn be drained or not? I mostly drained it without thinking before I stopped myself - no big deal, I'm sure. For the egg noodles: wide or extra wide? I got the wide ones. Also, my can of tomatoes said only "diced" - presumably they were peeled too. I couldn't find a couple of the ingredient sizes in my store - 15.25 oz. can of corn instead of 15, and I used half of a 16 oz. package of egg noodles, since I've never seen an 8 oz. one. Anyhow, I'm compulsive about following recipes to the letter. It didn't say how long to simmer the meat/veggie mixture, so I just simmered it for "a while". It was pretty easy to make, but when all was said and done, I thought the dish was just okay. It was fairly saucy after only 20 minutes of baking - I would've liked it to be less so. And I would've liked a lot more cheese. It lasted me for four meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I give this 3 stars as written, because it was pretty boring until I made a few adjustments. First of all, I added some garlic powder, cumin, hot sauce, a splash of lime juice, and s&p. I used more cheese, and topped it with some roughly crushed Ranch-flavored chips. This was an unbelievably easy and very tasty meal. I would definitely make this again. Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States