Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made this last night with a few changes. Personally, I don't like canned chili so, I used a package of mild McCormick chili mix added to the ground beef after it was drained. I also added a 6oz can of tomato sauce to the tomatoes. Instead of the egg noodles, I used a package of Uncle Ben's Ready rice. This is a great week night meal. It has a lot of flavor and clean up is easy. You only have one big skillet and a 13X9 pan to wash. Be sure to spray the oven pan with non stick spray before you put the casserole in so clean up is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was so good! great twist to a chili dinner. I always season my meat.. I added some green onions along with the onion. I forgot the diced tomatoes so i used a small can of tomato sauce along with like 4 spoonfuls of salsa i had in the fridge. It still turned out great! Will def make again! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is a simple recipe but I definitely made some customizations. I used 1 lb of ground turkey, fresh salsa (pre-packaged by Giant), red, yellow, and orange peppers, chili seasoning, crushed red peppers, diced tomatoes w/green chiles, garbanzo and black beans, whole wheat wide noodles, corn, and shredded cheddar and mexican flavor cheese. I pretty much followed the cooking instructions and substituted my ingredients in where necessary. I put the noodles in first and then mixed the meat mixture with the noodles. Halfway through I mixed in cheese and then finished adding the meat mixture. Then I topped with fresh salsa and more cheese. I baked for 20 minutes and it came out pretty well. My only adjustment next time would be to add more spice so that it is a little hotter and to cook longer because it was a little loose and didn't hold together. I will cook it for maybe 30-40 minutes and then add the cheese on top at the very end. Other than that it is a great recipe and I definitely recommend twirking it to meet your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made my own chili (spices) with the meat, added chili powder, cumin, crushed garlic, and cayenne pepper, sauteed onion. Left out the celery. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I couldn't even taste the taco sauce...my opinion leave it out. Added a lot more cheese about 2 cups. Using the taco packet and taco sauce could be a whole different dish, which would not be chili casserole but taco casserole. Overall a good dish for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My kids loved this! I just thought it was a little bland...probably would help to salt the water for the noodles, and the ground beef. I actully used venison; worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I just made this today for dinner. It was delicious, my hubby loved it too :) I didn't have any corn, or taco sauce so I used some salsa and a little bit of chili powder instead. My can of chili had cheddar chz in it, so I didn't put any on top, just some american chz that I had. I also only used 1 lb. of meat-and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I used taco seasoning rather then taco sauce as suggested by other reviewers. I also used penne pasta since I didn't have egg noodles on hand. My husband said there wasn't enough cheese. The flavor was kind of bland. Couldn't give this recipe a rave review. It was just alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
My family really liked this. I added tace seasoning to the meat and added 2 cups of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This recipe really deserves 5 stars, but I altered it some! No celery, but did saute the onion w/meat. Used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, added a few shakes of chili powder, s&p, garlic & onion powder. I let it simmer and tasted. Needed something, so used 1 beef bouillon cube to 1/2 cup water and let it simmer a little bit longer. PERFECT!!! Also I used the spiral noodles (Rotini) in the bottom of the casserole (cooked very aldente), then the chili mix and put plenty of cheese over the top. I baked 10 minutes covered and another 10 uncovered. My family devoured it, thank you so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe is so mch better than I expected. I made a few changes: I cooked the ground beef with taco seasoning rather than using taco sauce, I omitted the celery, used chili with beans, and used frozen corn rather than tinned. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States