Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made this last night with a few changes. Personally, I don't like canned chili so, I used a package of mild McCormick chili mix added to the ground beef after it was drained. I also added a 6oz can of tomato sauce to the tomatoes. Instead of the egg noodles, I used a package of Uncle Ben's Ready rice. This is a great week night meal. It has a lot of flavor and clean up is easy. You only have one big skillet and a 13X9 pan to wash. Be sure to spray the oven pan with non stick spray before you put the casserole in so clean up is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was so good! great twist to a chili dinner. I always season my meat.. I added some green onions along with the onion. I forgot the diced tomatoes so i used a small can of tomato sauce along with like 4 spoonfuls of salsa i had in the fridge. It still turned out great! Will def make again! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is a simple recipe but I definitely made some customizations. I used 1 lb of ground turkey, fresh salsa (pre-packaged by Giant), red, yellow, and orange peppers, chili seasoning, crushed red peppers, diced tomatoes w/green chiles, garbanzo and black beans, whole wheat wide noodles, corn, and shredded cheddar and mexican flavor cheese. I pretty much followed the cooking instructions and substituted my ingredients in where necessary. I put the noodles in first and then mixed the meat mixture with the noodles. Halfway through I mixed in cheese and then finished adding the meat mixture. Then I topped with fresh salsa and more cheese. I baked for 20 minutes and it came out pretty well. My only adjustment next time would be to add more spice so that it is a little hotter and to cook longer because it was a little loose and didn't hold together. I will cook it for maybe 30-40 minutes and then add the cheese on top at the very end. Other than that it is a great recipe and I definitely recommend twirking it to meet your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made my own chili (spices) with the meat, added chili powder, cumin, crushed garlic, and cayenne pepper, sauteed onion. Left out the celery. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I couldn't even taste the taco sauce...my opinion leave it out. Added a lot more cheese about 2 cups. Using the taco packet and taco sauce could be a whole different dish, which would not be chili casserole but taco casserole. Overall a good dish for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My kids loved this! I just thought it was a little bland...probably would help to salt the water for the noodles, and the ground beef. I actully used venison; worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I just made this today for dinner. It was delicious, my hubby loved it too :) I didn't have any corn, or taco sauce so I used some salsa and a little bit of chili powder instead. My can of chili had cheddar chz in it, so I didn't put any on top, just some american chz that I had. I also only used 1 lb. of meat-and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I used taco seasoning rather then taco sauce as suggested by other reviewers. I also used penne pasta since I didn't have egg noodles on hand. My husband said there wasn't enough cheese. The flavor was kind of bland. Couldn't give this recipe a rave review. It was just alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
My family really liked this. I added tace seasoning to the meat and added 2 cups of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This recipe really deserves 5 stars, but I altered it some! No celery, but did saute the onion w/meat. Used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, added a few shakes of chili powder, s&p, garlic & onion powder. I let it simmer and tasted. Needed something, so used 1 beef bouillon cube to 1/2 cup water and let it simmer a little bit longer. PERFECT!!! Also I used the spiral noodles (Rotini) in the bottom of the casserole (cooked very aldente), then the chili mix and put plenty of cheese over the top. I baked 10 minutes covered and another 10 uncovered. My family devoured it, thank you so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe is so mch better than I expected. I made a few changes: I cooked the ground beef with taco seasoning rather than using taco sauce, I omitted the celery, used chili with beans, and used frozen corn rather than tinned. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States