Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe! One thing I did different...I didn't have a can of whole kernel corn, but I did have a can of cream-style corn so I added that instead. It gave it a great creaminess and a little added sweetness....in retrospect, I think had I used whole kernel corn I wouldn't have liked it as much! I also used some pre-shredded Mexican/taco blend cheese that I needed to use up, and probably added twice as much as the recipe called for. Other than those two things I followed the recipe exactly. The next time I would probably sauté the onion with the ground beef until it's limp, as my son isn't fond of onion that "crunches" but will eat it without complaint if it's cooked. This recipe fills the bill when you want something tasty, filling, inexpensive, and quick!! Thanks for sharing the recipe sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is a staple in our house! The kids love it and it makes great left overs. The only thing I change is that I use chili without meat. Otherwise, great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Easy and quick meal. I would not recommend the onions or sautée them before adding. The onions were a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Another winner. Kids liked it, husband liked it and husband said he'd take left overs for lunch which is always a good sign! As recommended from other reviewers I added a can of tomato sauce and used 2 cups of a mexican cheese blend insead of mozzarella (1 cup mixed in casserole, 1 cup on top) otherwise I followed the directions as is. The only thing I'd do different next time is sauté the onions for a few minutes to soften them up more as they weren't quite done to our liking. There was a lot left over so if you need a quick lunch the next day you'll be covered! For my side dishes I made corn bread and a basic spinach salad, only topped with hemp seed and poppy seed dressing. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I'd like to add pepper jack cheese to it next time to spice it up a bit. It tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is a keeper! I made this tonight,exactly as written. Super easy, with ingredients I already had at home and our family of 4, including twin 16 year old boys, gobbled the whole thing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Very good. I added a can of Rotel tomatoes. Next time I will use more cheese, you can never have enough cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This sounds WONDERFUL! All except for the choice of cheese. I'm going to try this, but use Cheddar instead...or perhaps a pizza cheese blend. I'm also going to leave out the hot sauce, since the chili beans and taco seasoning I'm going to use will be hot enough. (Yes, I'm going to use taco seasoning instead of chili seasoning as well. Gotta use what I have on hand.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Solid dish. But I don't agree with the "ready in 30 mins" label, because that assumes that you've already cooked the pasta and browned the meat. Doesn't that time count?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dano&nan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was good, it certainly fed my husband and I for days afterwards, which was nice. I made the recipe as written but really felt like it was missing something. Other reviewers mentioned adding tomato sauce, which I think would be a good idea. I added salsa to each plate of leftovers I had and loved it that way. I'll mix it in with the original dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States