Chili Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
***UPDATE*** Chili sauce is like ketchup (NOT spicy thai chile sauce) - I always find it with the ketchup, usually on the top shelf and there is typically only one or two kinds (heinz and store brand) - it tastes like ketchup but is a little thicker - hope you have better luck with it this way! I can imagine that with taco sauce it would give it a totally different flavor (and texture, as taco sauce isn't as thick :)) I don't feel like I can give this a star rating because I submitted the recipe - but I think it's delicious, and allrecipes makes you give a rating, so 5 stars :) I usually add a little bit of minced garlic to the mix, as well, and extra chili sauce (it tends to fall apart with too much, though, so watch out :)). The chili sauce is good even with just beef (or even ground turkey) if you don't have sausage. Be careful not to overcook, though, because the meat will stay red due to the sauce. Use a meat thermometer if you want to make sure it's done, or just grill as you would any other burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Wow - I loved this recipe! It satisfied everyone - from the big meat eaters to the people who aren't even big on red meat. I made this for a family BBQ becuase I wanted something different than just a hamburger. I used ground italian TURKEY sausage instead of regular and it worked great. With the help of the Chili Sauce, the burgers were unbelievably moist and I got rave reviews. Thanks for the recipe - I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Impress your friends with this one. I usually add a little garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Yummy! It was hard for me to want to put any other condiments on the burger! My advice would be to double the recipe! Everyone may want two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRACEHHOPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Made this last night, husband wants it again this week. I already had plain sausage on hand so I added oregano, basil, and garlic plus a little extra chile sauce. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I really like this recipe. The only thing that I do is add two cloves of crushed garlic to the mixture and top it with some sliced pepper jack. Very tasty! My girlfriend didn't care for it so much because she doesn't like the taste of rye (italian sausage), but I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. My family went wild for them. We made them into little "sliders" and cooked them on the Foreman grill. Mmmm. We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is one of the best burgers ever! I've made it with plain and italian sausage and loved it both times. Per the other review I've been cautious about adding too much chili sauce - but after they're cooked, I put a little more sauce on top instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Careful with the sausage, too much can change the entire tone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Easy, moist and flavorful! My family loves these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States