Chili Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is the first recipe I have ever reviewed and I am an avid baker. I do not own a bread baker and make all my bread from scratch. I made the following changes and was able to make it without a bread baker. I used 2.5 tsp of dry active yeast which I proofed in 2 oz of warm water - 110 degrees (I just run my faucet at the hottest for a minute to get the right temperature)for about 6 minutes until the yeast blooms. I then weigh my flour (9.55 oz). I add all the spices although I reduced the onion to 1/2 T, 5 oz of beer and 2 T of regular olive oil. I knead it in my mixer using the dough hook for 6 min. I let it rise in a warm place for 1 hour, I then roll it out to 8.5 by 5 inch rectangle and roll it up from the long side, put in 8.5 by 4 inh loaf pan, let it rise another hour and then bake at 400 for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
So good! I purposely left out the chili oil bc 1. don't have it and 2. we don't like spicy spicy. I also only put a sprinkle of cayenne bc, well, see 2 above and I was sure it would be too spicy for us. This way was perfect--good chili flavor, a touch spicy but not overwhelming--and a really good bread with cheese. It'll be good bread for sandwiches, too, I'm sure. So easy, and easily adjusted to make by hand or in a mixer if you don't have a breadmaker. I just used my dough setting, let it rise in a bread pan for about 20 mins, then baked at 375 for 40 mins. Perfect! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made this with a bread machine with no changes to the recipe and its was great. The next time I made it I added half a cup of cheddar cheese and 1/4 cup diced jalapenos and it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemmie Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
great savory bread. my co-workers went nuts for it and want it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
A must have with chili! This bread is SO good that we (just the 2 of us) eat almost the whole loaf in one sitting. I really wish I had a two loaf machine for this recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very tasty bread. It was a hit at a party I took it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Great Bread! It was light and mild in flavor. I served it with a southwest type soup and it was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I was underwhelmed by this bread. There is some flavor present in it that tastes a little odd. (I think it is the bullion.) If I ever make this again, I will reduce the bullion (or eliminate it) and reduce the onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I really loved the spices - I increased them and toasted cumin seeds - but the actual bread crumb was not up to par. I will probably transfer the spices over to another bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
As hubs put it, bread is generally neutral in flavor and that's good and the way it should be. And when bread IS flavored with something, it's often overpowering. When he eats bread, he says, he wants bread, not a mouthful of herbs, for instance. With this bread, however, the combination of flavors is subtle and pleasant. It's hard to describe what it tastes like because all of the seasonings are so well blended. I do detect the chili powder and a hint of the beer, and even though I did not use the chile oil and only half the amount of cayenne pepper called for, we still could detect the "bite." I know neither of us would have cared for this had I used both and in the amounts called for because we wouldn't like "hot and spicy" bread! Just to make things simple I used the 3:1 ratio of flour and liquid, so I used a cup of beer and three cups of flour, then upped the rest of the ingredients just slightly to compensate. I will be serving this with "White Chili with Chicken," also from this site. (Hubs generally resists any kind of flavored bread and he really liked this one!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States