Chili Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Skipped the peas (that's just wrong) and used salsa for the tomato paste, substituted black beans (very nice) and doubled the spices adding garlic & cumin to the beef mixture. Also cut the onion in half, didn't miss the other one. Have to add more cheese too! Really good, my two college boys finished it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was a pretty good dish. Good for cleaning out the pantry! If you are feeding a large crowd I recommend it. We had leftovers and it wasn't as good the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I didn't care for this casserole, nor did my family. It was very bland (I did add garlic and salt to the ground beef). It almost needed something to hold it all together. Perhaps a can of rotel tomatoes instead of the diced tomatoes would have helped with the seasoning. And more cheese would have made it more like a casserole and not a bunch of ingredients just thrown together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This recipe tasted pretty good. My husband & I love sour cream, so we topped the dish off with some. It helped out a lot. I also used some salt to season the beef mixture. We enjoyed it, and had it for left overs for the next couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
this was pretty good. nothing spectacular though. added rotel instead of regular chopped tomatoes. glad i did. will try black beans vs. kidneys beans next time as others suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Gosh, I am on another page with this one, I felt I wasted so much making it. I wanted to use the whole can of tomato paste, not just the 1/4 cup. I found the whole dish not worth my 1/4 of my panty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by north

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I tried this with some of the alterations from the other reviews, and it was amazing! I also like things spicy so I substituted Rotel tomatoes (mild but will try original next time) and black beans, used taco seasoning on the beef, left out the peas, and used wheat tortillas instead of corn cuz I didn't have any. My husband and I loved it and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. Wasn't fabulous, but good enough to make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
too sweet for our tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Extremely bland. My 3 year old didn't even like it. Good idea, but needs lots more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States