Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I just made this for my Mother's Day Brunch and it was GREAT! I was in a hurry and didn't have time to get poblano chiles, so I used green chiles and added saute'd onions and garlic. I didn't know if poblano chiles were spicer than green chiles so I used pepper jack cheese instead of regular monterey jack to add some spice. Also to make it a little lighter I used light evaporated milk and light sour cream. It was DELICIOUS! I even gave the recipe along with a pretty quiche dish as birthday gift to my best friend - huge hit :) Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This is just fantastic, and so easy to make! The hardest part was roasting and peeling the peppers. I baked this for 1 hour and it came out perfect, will make this again for sure! I added a couple of diced green onions and some diced black olives, served this with salsa and sour cream. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
If you love chiles, you will love this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely yummy. Next time I would take the recommendation of another reviewer and add both the green onion and the salt to the egg/sour cream mixture. Using canned chiles would probably be okay, but there is nothing like fresh poblanos. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This is an excellent way to have the taste of Chilies Rellenos without the work of stuffing the Chilies. The flavor is super and it is easy to make. Has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Muy Bueno! I made it in a pie crust and also added some roasted red bell peppers for color, and minced onion, and used grilled chicken breast meat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I cooked this with a friend, it was fantastic! We made it with rice and beans and it was a fabulous dinner. It makes a large portion, we fed 4 adults and 4 children + breakfast burritos the next morning with it! Fantastic recipe. We ended up layering it in a 9" tall pyrex baking dish and it was FABULOUS! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Great recipe. I love Chiles Rellenos, but can't make them. This is a very easy way to enjoy the same taste. Only thing I added was salt and pepper to the flour mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Great recipe. To make it lower in carbs, omit the flour and use halfhalf or cream instead of the evap. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I love this dish.I use canned diced green chiles when i don't have the time to roast the fresh ones, and it still tastes great. It is so much easier to make than the real chile rellenos, and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monahans, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Delicious! Would be a great brunch dish. As with many dishes, I actually found it was better the next day as it gave time for all the flavors to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States