Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My family and I did not care for this dish at all. We could not finished eating what was on our plate. I really had no taste at all, and I went by the receipe. After reading the reviews, I was so desappointed. I consider myself a very good cook, and I fix alot of Mexican dishes. My family loves Mexican food, and we go to Mexican resturants alot, and have never gotten a dish we did not love, but this one, I just don't understand how other people rate it so high. I would not give it 1 star, infact I threw out what we did not eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
okay, but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
made this a while we enjoyed it, it just seemed to be missing something....I'll probably try it again with a few tweaks....there also seemed to be to much "batter" for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
The picture does it no justice! It looks much more amazing in person! This recipe is very easy - I took another user's advice and put the peppers in a ziploc to steam for 10 minutes, so peeling was very easy. I left out the chicken and served the salsa on the side, and it was so fluffy and delicious! Next time I will definitely try with some Chihuahua or Queso Fresco to make it even more like Chile Rellenos in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
So good! I used ground beef cooked with Rotel and corn and two diced jalapenos in place of the chicken ( I already had the gb cooked- made things easy). Otherwise I followed the recipe. I had never taken the skins off of peppers before, so that took a little time, but once I figured out what I was doing it went pretty quick. I let my 6 year old grate the cheese (hate the bagged stuff) which kept her involved. I will make this again. My husband and 3 and 6 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I love chiles rellenos and wondered if this would be an easy alternative and it was! The prep is easy and quick and into the oven it goes. My (Mexican) family loved it and we will definitely add this to our recipe box for future enjoyment. I think I will add more chilis to it since we really like the flavor and mild heat. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Alfaro Rincon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very Good! I had bits of several different likds of cheeses in the fridge from other endeavors so I combined them all to make the required amount of cheese in this....none was monterrey jack. Some was Swiss, some Mozzerella, some cheddar, some Velveeta...it came out wonderful. Am looking forward to the leftovers tonight. Thank you for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Loved this recipe! I didn't have chicken or montery jack cheese on hand so I just used leftover beef taco meet and mozzarella cheese. Turned out wonderful, but next time I'll try it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
My husband is a huge Chiles Rellenos fan. I was hesitant to try since it was such a departure from the traditional. I was planning to freeze for his use. I am glad I tried the recipe. He LOVED it! The only change I made was I added the salsa into milk/sour cream mixture (because I was freezing for future use). It was absolutely delicious and I will make again and again and will add the salsa into mixture. It froze very well. I found it made 6 average servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I am a chile relleno freak. And let me tell you, this recipe is the closest you'll ever come to a real stuffed chile without actually stuffing one. Be sure to use fresh roasted and peeled poblanos to line the dish. The only thing I did differently was to top the casserole with my own homemade green chili (containing tiny cubes of pork, chopped green chiles, garlic and jalapenos and a bit of tomato) instead of using salsa. Next summer I may be making this pie instead of traditional rellenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States