Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Needs work, basic recipe is great, poblanos came out tasting like spinach, I grow my own peppers and know that from plant to plant or row to row that poblanos can range from very mild to medium warm, as I said this tasted way on the mild side. I followed the recipe as written and I and my family would like a little more spice. I used Ortega Mild Salsa, should have used a hotter salsa than Ortega mild. As stated the recipe is great as written, but needs to be adjusted to taste. I used Tabasco Jalapeno hot sauce to jet up to my taste and this was just for additional taste, you may use any other hot sauce of your preference, but I do not recommend any of the red hot sauces as they tend to have too much vinegar and unknown pepper combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles B. Simpson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Wow...this was awesome...subbed hamburger for the chicken and it was so easy and so good. Best part was no frying, therefore better for me..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a hit! I needed a side dish for my "bunko" night dinner. I omited the chicken and salsa. I also added a second layer. I only had enough fresh peppers to do one layer so for the second layer I used canned whole chilis. I used colby cheese becuase that's what I had on hand. It was dealious. I have made it again, with just canned chilis and regular milk, not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook on the Mountain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this, used half/half instead of the evaporated milk. (it was what I had on hand) I made mine spicier with some home made salsa. Boyfriend told me it was a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I would definitely make this again. It was a great success when I had a Cinco de Mayo brunch at home with friends. The peppers took awhile to roast and peel but I put the peppers in a ziploc bag for a while after roasting so the skin came off easily. I made it all the day before and just put it in the oven in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good! I used reduced fat cheese and fat free condensed milk. I had to let it cook an extra 10 minutes or so longer. I only had 5 chiles, but they seemed to be plenty. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was absolutely amazing!! Easy and soooo delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Simple and tasty--just what I was looking for. (simplified by using canned chilies.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I wanted to prepare actual Chile Rellenos but decided to try this casserole-version for its simplicity and was delighted with it. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I shredded the chicken as I prefer texture when shredded. I don't think I roasted the peppers quite long enough, because even though I let them sweat for a few minutes in a paper bag, I still had a tough time peeling. Forgetting to half the recipe, I ended up eating this for lunch several times and didn't tire of it. It was fluffy and cheesy, with just a slight heat from the peppers that seemed to have flavored up through the other layers. I will definitely add this to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My family and I did not care for this dish at all. We could not finished eating what was on our plate. I really had no taste at all, and I went by the receipe. After reading the reviews, I was so desappointed. I consider myself a very good cook, and I fix alot of Mexican dishes. My family loves Mexican food, and we go to Mexican resturants alot, and have never gotten a dish we did not love, but this one, I just don't understand how other people rate it so high. I would not give it 1 star, infact I threw out what we did not eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States