Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe is great and easy. Everyone that tried it wanted the recipe. I tried poblanos in my garden this year. I had alot of peppers so I added another layer of peppers, with half the cheese and meat between the layers. Next time I will try it with beef instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My hispanic boyfriend wants me to start making more of "his" kind of meals. This hit the spot. I was YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this recipe this week and we LOVED it. the only difference is I put two layers of the poblano chile peppers (like lasagne) with the filling in between the layers. This will be a regular on our family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe. The youngsters just gobble it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Simple & yummy. I added a few fresh elements as to not feel so guilty eating so much of this: fresh cilantro, sauteed diced onion & chopped scallion between the layers. This was a great make-ahead served with salad & sliced avocado. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Long prep time in roasting/peeling chiles. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was amazing! My husband and daughter loved it. Then my sister-in-law made it and her husband loved it as well. I don't think I roasted the peppers long enough, they were hard to peel. Next time I would where gloves, my hands burned later that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
this is a very good and yummy recipe i have made Chile Rellenos the more traditional way it's a little more mess and worry then i'd like so this Pie is a Great compromiser it heather and no mess no frying! thanks Kat Mitschke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this recipe the other night and loved it! I made a couple of changes: Replaced two of the chiles with pasilla chiles to add a hint of spice. Additionally, I chopped up 1 linguica sausage and added it instead of chicken to the top prior to baking. So good! Suggestion: After roasting the peppers, place them in a Ziploc bag for 15-20 mins. the steam helps make peeling easier. Run them under water when peeling if you're having a hard time. Also, if you split and seed the chiles prior to broiling, it will save you time. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is some really good comfort food! I ended up using a smaller dish (9 x 7) and made two layers of peppers and cheese, with the chicken in between. I only had 3/4 of a cup of sour cream, so I subbed in 1/4 cup of cottage cheese. I added about 2 1/2 to 3 cups of mixed jack and cheddar cheese (just eye-balled it, but there was at least a cup left in my 32 ounce bag), and I think that was the perfect amount. The ratio to the batter was just right. As other reviewers pointed out, it is not the same as a traditional chile relleno, but it is a great dish nonetheless. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States