Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Yum! I roasted the chilies on the gril, put them back in the produce bag and close the top. Let the chilies sit for 5-10 min. The steam will help you remove the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Celebrated my 51st Birthday today. Made this recipe and I must tell you it was a hit. I doubled the recipe (we have a large family) and it was a big hit! I measure most Mexican restaurants by their Chili Rellenos. This was wonderful. I used canned Ortega Chili (nice and mild, but flavorful) and made two layers on them...one on the bottom and one half way up the mixture. Highly recommended and this will be a regular item on "Taco Tuesdays" with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Hamblen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This is great! I used canned roasted and peeled chiles, omitted the flour and substituted cream for the evaporated milk. I made my own salsa, using the Salsa de Cilantro recipe on this site and served it at room temperature of top of each individual serving instead of cooking it with the pie. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This was surprisingly good. My hubby (who is Mexican-American) loves chiles rellenos, and I can't make them (I'm not a fryer). He said that although this isn't quite the same, it makes a nice substitution. I left out the chicken at his request and served the salsa on the side. Also diced up the peppers and used more than called for. Served with refried beans and warm flour tortillas. Will definitely make this again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I just made this for my Mother's Day Brunch and it was GREAT! I was in a hurry and didn't have time to get poblano chiles, so I used green chiles and added saute'd onions and garlic. I didn't know if poblano chiles were spicer than green chiles so I used pepper jack cheese instead of regular monterey jack to add some spice. Also to make it a little lighter I used light evaporated milk and light sour cream. It was DELICIOUS! I even gave the recipe along with a pretty quiche dish as birthday gift to my best friend - huge hit :) Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This tasted great!~and was a lot easier than making the peppers the regular way! I put the peppers in a paper bag for about 15 minutes after roasting and the skin will wipe right off under cold water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JettnTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
If you love chiles, you will love this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely yummy. Next time I would take the recommendation of another reviewer and add both the green onion and the salt to the egg/sour cream mixture. Using canned chiles would probably be okay, but there is nothing like fresh poblanos. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I screwed this recipe up and it still turned out great! I accidentially used 6 eggs instead of 3. I had put it in the oven before I realized my mistake - hubby said we could order pizza if it didn't turn out. Had to increase the first baking time by 15 minutes to get the center to firm up but followed all other directions exactly. We ate it for dinner but my "screwed-up" version will now become a favorite for breakfast or brunch. I'll be heating some up for breakfast tomorrow! Next week I intend to try the original recipe with the exact ingredients. Husband loved my version and can't wait to try the original. PS - being in a hurry, I did use store-bought chicken (Louis Rich brand Southwestern seasoned Chicken Breast Strips) which I had never tried before. Found it in the lunch meat aisle - great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. So good I made it for my sister and mother they ate the whole thing! The only thing I did different is that I used a steak that I put in the crock pot with a little garlic salt and let it cook untill it fell apart. I also used pato sauce in place of salsa. ( pato sauce is like mexican spicy tomato sauce.) the pato sauce is what is use at authentic mexican restrants on origanal rellenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This is just fantastic, and so easy to make! The hardest part was roasting and peeling the peppers. I baked this for 1 hour and it came out perfect, will make this again for sure! I added a couple of diced green onions and some diced black olives, served this with salsa and sour cream. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States